OU Header
Fast Facts

OU is one of the few public universities in the nation to cap the class size of first-year English composition courses at no more than 19 students.
See more Fast Facts

Board of Regents

Mr. Bennett

Mr. BennettBennett was appointed to the Board of Regents by Governor Mary Fallin in 2011 for a seven-year term. He serves as president of Dorchester Capital, a diversified private investment company, and chairman of the Oklahoma City Thunder, a franchise of the National Basketball Association. Since its arrival in Oklahoma City in 2008, the Thunder has achieved significant success on and off the court. That includes five Northwest Division titles, four trips to the Western Conference Finals and one appearance in the NBA Finals. The team has sold out nearly 300 consecutive home games and in 2013 was named the Sports Team of the Year by the Sports Business Journal. Thunder players have made approximately 2,000 appearances in the community as part of the Thunder Cares program. The team has also refurbished or built 15 basketball courts in communities across Oklahoma. Highly involved in civic and charitable efforts, Bennett has served as chairman of the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce, the Oklahoma State Fair, Oklahoma Industries Authority, the Oklahoma Heritage Association and the Oklahoma Health Center Foundation. Bennett serves as a director of the Oklahoma City Industrial and Cultural Facilities Trust, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, and the Native American Cultural and Educational Authority of Oklahoma. Bennett also serves as Chairman of the Oklahoma County Criminal Justice Reform Task Force, seeking solutions in the areas of Oklahoma County Jail overcrowding, treatment of mental illness and substance abuse, and other contributors to increases in incarceration that have an impact on Oklahoma City's public safety and quality of life. In 1997, Bennett was presented the Economic Development Citizen Leadership Award by the National Council of Urban Economic Development. In 2007, he was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame, and in 2008 was named “Oklahoman of the Year” by Oklahoma Today magazine. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in 2013.