Skip Navigation


Skip Side Navigation

Air Force ROTC Overview

Detachment 675, University of Oklahoma

Since 1952, Air Force ROTC Detachment 675 has been training high-quality future Air Force leaders.  Some of the best and brightest University of Oklahoma (OU) students have completed the Air Force ROTC program while earning their undergraduate degree, allowing them to commission as officers in the United States Air Force after graduation.  These graduates have served their country well as pilots, Combat Systems Officers (CSOs), Air Battle Managers (ABMs), engineers, doctors, nurses, weather officers, communications officers, acquisition managers, language specialists, etc.  Today, this tradition continues on at the University of Oklahoma.  If you enroll in AFROTC at Det 675, you will become a part of this long-standing tradition of excellence!

The Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) is one of three commissioning sources for officers in the United States Air Force, the other two being the United States Air Force Academy (USAFA) and Air Force Officer Training School (OTS).  A subordinate command of the Air University within the Air Education and Training Command (AETC), AFROTC is aligned under the Jeanne M. Holm Center for Officer Accessions and Citizen Development at Maxwell AFB, Alabama.  The Holm Center, formerly known as the Air Force Officer Accession and Training Schools (AFOATS), retains direct responsibility for both AFROTC and OTS.

Air Force ROTC offers men and women the opportunity to earn a commission as an Air Force officer while completing the requirements of their first bachelor's degree.  Interested students may join Air Force ROTC during any semester in their first year of college and during the fall semester of their second year of college without any obligation or commitment.  Students who are beyond their second year of college may still be eligible to join, depending on how many credits they have remaining before they will earn their degree.  OU students who complete the entire program will earn a minor in Aerospace Studies.

Air Force ROTC is the largest and oldest source of commissioned officers in the U.S. Air Force.  Air Force ROTC's stated mission is to produce quality leaders for the U.S. Air Force.  Air Force ROTC units are located on 140 college and university campuses with 1,000 additional institutions of higher learning participating in cross-town agreements which allow their students to attend Air Force ROTC classes at a nearby "host" college or university.

The following schools have cross-town agreements with the University of Oklahoma: Rose State College, Oklahoma City Community College (OCCC), Oklahoma Christian University, Oklahoma Baptist University, Oklahoma City University, and the University of Central Oklahoma.

Air Force ROTC units at colleges and universities are called "detachments" and are typically headed by an active duty USAF officer in the rank of Colonel or Lieutenant Colonel who functions as both the Detachment Commander for USAF purposes and with the nominal title of Professor of Aerospace Studies (PAS) within the institution's academic community.  The University of Oklahoma has designated the Air Force ROTC detachment as the Department of Aerospace Studies.  The PAS is assisted by three Assistant Professors of Aerospace Studies (APAS), all active duty USAF officers in the ranks of major, captain, or lieutenant.  Two USAF non-commissioned officers provide military administrative support and are augmented by two civilian staff support employees of the academic institution.

Within Air Force ROTC detachments, the students (i.e., cadets) are organized into wings, groups, squadrons, and flights, mirroring the USAF functional wing structure.  The cadet wing is separated into two divisions: the General Military Course (GMC), which includes students in their first two years of Air Force ROTC training, and the Professional Officer Course (POC), which includes students in their last two years of Air Force ROTC training. The Air Force ROTC program is also divided into two training functions: the Academic Classroom Program (Aerospace Studies classes) and Cadet Activities (i.e., Leadership Laboratory and Physical Training).

Entry into the POC is competitive and requires the student to be fully qualified for an Air Force commission, nominated by the Professor of Aerospace Studies and selected by a board at Headquarters Air Force ROTC.  Cadets must meet minimum Physical Fitness Assessment (PFA), standardized testing, and GPA requirements in order to be eligible to compete for entry into the POC.

Law students may apply for the two-year Air Force ROTC program during their first year of law school or the one-year Air Force ROTC program during their second year of law school.  See more information here.

Anyone interested in joining Air Force ROTC should contact the Recruiting Flight Commander at or (405) 325-3211. When leaving a phone message please provide an e-mail for quicker communication.