Home About India ISA Exec. & Officers ISA Membership Events & Gallery Alumni Contact Us Sponsors  
ISA Est. at OU in 1962
Indian National Emblem
Flag National Emblem National Anthem
Indian Emblem

The Indian National Emblem has been adopted from the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. It consists of four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus.

Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra). This same Chakra can be found on the Indian National Flag.

The Government of lndia adopted the Lion Capital as the National Emblem on 26 January 1950. Only three lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view being behind the lion which faces the viewer.

The wheel appears in relief in the centre of the abacus with a bull on right and a horse on left and the outlines of other wheels on extreme right and left. The bell-shaped lotus has heen omitted.

The words 'Satyameva Jayate' from Mundaka Upanishad, meaning 'Truth Alone Triumphs', are inscribed below the abacus in the Devanagari script.

Copyright © 2004-2010 India Student Association
University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma.