Skip Navigation

URIM Sub-Internship for Visiting Students

school of community medicine website wordmark
OU Tulsa Homepage Community Medicine Homepage
Skip Side Navigation

Visiting Underrepresented in Medicine Student Elective Program


This program is designed to expose URiM students from across the country to the outstanding residency training programs offered at the OU-TU School of Community Medicine (SCM) in Tulsa, Oklahoma. During the 4-week elective students will connect and form relationships with current SCM faculty, staff and residents while obtaining hands-on clinical experience in their specialty of interest. Students will also spend time in the city of Tulsa, discover its strengths and opportunities, while learning about the SCM’s unique mission to address the social and structural determinants of health outcomes within Tulsa in collaboration with our community.

Program Details:

All applicants must apply through VSAS and submit a supplemental application by the deadline.  

Supplementary application is required and should include:

  • Curriculum vitae / resume
  • Description of their qualifications as underrepresented in medicine,
  • Answers to the following questions:
    • Why are you interested in this elective at the OU-TU School of Community Medicine?
    • What would you most like to gain from this elective?
    • How do you think the School of Community Medicine can best achieve its mission to improve the health of the entire community?

Please submit your supplementary application materials via email to the appropriate contact listed below: 

Emergency Medicine: Jamie-Lawley@ouhsc.edu 
Family Medicine: Rita-Hains@ouhsc.edu
Internal Medicine: Ginger-Wilson@ouhsc.edu
Obstetrics & Gynecology: Cathy-Lehr@ouhsc.edu
Pediatrics: Juliana-Jimenez@ouhsc.edu 
Psychiatry: Jennifer-Austin@ouhsc.edu
Surgery: Kristin-Bailes@ouhsc.edu

Departments will review and accept competitive applications on a rolling basis.  Notification will come from our department’s student coordinator. 

We strongly encourage students to apply by 8/1/2022. Applications after this time will be considered on a case-by-case basis depending on availability of funding and ability to schedule.

Accepted applicants receive:

  • $1,500 stipend to cover the cost of living expenses. An additional travel stipend may be available if traveling from outside of Tulsa
  • In-depth clinical experience in a residency program of their choice
  • Opportunities to learn about the Tulsa community

Optional activities could include (subject to department):

  • Mentoring relationships with faculty and/or residents with similar research or career interests