Skip Navigation

OU Professor Awarded for Excellence in the Arts

OU Professor Awarded for Excellence in the Arts

Nationally noted composer Roland Barrett received the 2014 Irene and Julian J. Rothbaum Presidential Professor of Excellence in the Arts.

NORMAN – Nationally noted composer and arranger Roland Barrett has been awarded the 2014 Irene and Julian J. Rothbaum Presidential Professor of Excellence in the Arts at the University of Oklahoma.     

“No one deserves to receive the Rothbaum professorship more than Roland Barrett,” said OU President David L. Boren. “He supports the highest standards of excellence, and no one is more committed to the music program at OU than Roland Barrett.”

A 2000 graduate of OU, Barrett earned his D.M.A. in Music Composition. Prior to joining OU’s music theory and composition faculty in 2001, he served 15 years as Assistant Director of Bands, preparing all musical arrangements for the Pride. While at OU, he has taught Music Theory and Composition at both the undergraduate and graduate level and in 2010, he was named Associate Director for the School of Music.

With more than 200 published original works and arrangements, Barrett’s compositions have been performed by the Dallas Wind Symphony and numerous All-State, All-Region and All-District Honor Bands. In addition, his work has been featured on National Public Radio, USA cable television network, at the annual Midwest Band & Orchestra Convention, the National Trumpet Competition and the International Trumpet Guild Convention.

Barrett is a multiple recipient of the annual American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers Plus award and a former recipient of the Michael Hennagin Memorial Scholarship in composition at OU. His work has been published in Alfred Music, C. Alan Music, Frank J. Hackinson Publications, Wingert-Jones Publications, Matrix/Jalen Music and Solid Brass Music.­­

His public service includes serving as Chair for the Voice Search Committee and as a member of the Advisory Committee for Institutional Reporting, and the Faculty Appeals Board. Also, he has served as a member of the Strategic Planning Committee, and the Theory Search Committee.