Skip Navigation

OU Receives $1.5M for Study Abroad Scholarships

OU Receives $1.5M for Study Abroad Scholarships

Cathey and Don Humphreys of Dallas present a $1.5 million gift to the University of Oklahoma.

NORMAN – A $1.5 million gift is being presented to the University of Oklahoma by Cathey and Don Humphreys of Dallas to establish an endowed chair for the dean’s position in the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education and to support scholarships for students participating in study abroad programs, President David L. Boren announced today at the October meeting of the OU Board of Regents.

“I am deeply appreciative of the Humphreys’ exceptional generosity, which will be a great help to the future educators now studying at OU,” Boren said.

The gift is a part of OU’s 125th Anniversary Live On, University Campaign, a recently announced $500 million fundraising effort to ensure the continuation of OU’s tradition of excellence.

The Humphreys credited the leadership and vision of Gregg Garn, dean of the college, as being influential in bestowing the gift.  Garn, who also is executive director of the K20 Center for Educational and Community Renewal, has led the college since 2012.

In addition to endowing a chair in the college, the gift from the Humphreys includes $500,000 designated for Study Abroad scholarships. For the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education, scholarships are a main priority.  The college recently announced a Debt-Forgiveness Program that decreases the debt of OU teaching graduates by providing $5,000 for each year they remain in the state of Oklahoma to teach after graduation for a maximum of four years. 

The Humphreys have a history of supporting OU, and are especially dedicated to the College of Education.  In 2012, the Humphreys established the Cathey A. Simmons Humphreys Endowed Study Abroad Scholarship in honor of Cathey Humphreys, a 1970 graduate in Business Education. The Humphreys also have endowed the Cathey Simmons Humphreys Distinguished Education Lecture Series, which brings nationally recognized education experts to campus.