Skip Navigation

OU Law Professor Jonathan Forman Recognized for Scholarship

OU Law Professor Jonathan Forman Recognized for Scholarship

Jonathan B. Forman, professor of law at the University of Oklahoma, received the Actuarial Foundation’s 2015 John Hanson Memorial Prize.

NORMAN — Professor of Law at The University of Oklahoma, Jonathan B. Forman, received The Actuarial Foundation’s 2015 John Hanson Memorial Prize for his recent research. The award recognizes Forman’s work as co-author on the paper “Tontine Pensions.” Forman received the award last month at the Annual Meeting of the Conference of Consulting Actuaries in Bonita Springs, Florida.   

The John Hanson Memorial Prize is given annually to the author(s) of the best paper on an employee benefits topic. Submissions are considered and judged based on appropriateness of subject material, timelieness of topic, originality and practical application to employee benefits.

“Professor Forman is a wonderful example of OU Law’s strong commitment to faculty research,” said OU Law Dean Joseph Harroz Jr. “His scholarship is impressively expansive and we’re grateful to The Actuarial Foundation for recognizing his work. We are proud of Professor Forman’s leadership in the field.”

Forman’s article is co-authored by Michael J. Sabin and is published in the February 2015 issue of the University of Pennsylvania Law Review. The article shows how to create low-cost “tontine pensions” through which large employers could provide retirement income for their employees. A copy of the article is available at

Forman is the Alfred P. Murrah Professor of Law at OU Law where he teaches courses on tax and pension law. He joined the OU Law faculty in 1985 after serving as a tax attorney in all three branches of the federal government. His research focuses on tax and pension policy.

Founded in 1909, the OU College of Law has small sections and class sizes that encourage a strong sense of community, accomplished faculty with international expertise and a state-of-the-art facility featuring multimedia study rooms, court rooms and classrooms equipped with the latest technology. As Oklahoma’s only public law school, OU Law is the academic home of more than 500 students enrolled in the juris doctor program, the John B. Turner Master of Laws program, the master of legal studies program and various dual degree programs.  

For more information about OU Law, visit