Skip Navigation

OU Board of Regents Elects Weitzenhoffer, Bennett as Officers

OU Board of Regents Elects Weitzenhoffer, Bennett as Officers

A. Max Weitzenhoffer of Norman has been elected as chairman of the University of Oklahoma Board of Regents and Clayton I. Bennett of Oklahoma City has been elected as vice chairman of the board.

Weitzenhoffer was appointed to the Board of Regents by Gov. Brad Henry in 2003 for a seven-year term and was reappointed in 2010. He is a highly acclaimed independent producer of New York and London theatre productions and has won numerous Tony, Olivier, Evening Standard and Drama Critics awards. With family ties to Oklahoma predating statehood, he graduated from OU with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Drama. He has served many professional organizations, including the American Academy of Dramatic Arts, the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation, President of New York’s Circle Repertory Company and is a member of the league of New York Theatres and Producers. He is also involved with several community service projects in Norman and Oklahoma.

Weitzenhoffer helped create the Department of Musical Theatre and supports the College of Fine Arts, both of which bear his family name. He also established and supports an annual recognition breakfast honoring student athletes. He has been honored by the university with numerous awards, including a Regents’ Alumni Award and an Honorary Doctorate. In 1994, he was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame.

Bennett was appointed to the Board of Regents by Gov. Mary Fallin in 2011 for a seven-year term. He serves as president of Dorchester Capital, a diversified private investment company, and chairman of the Oklahoma City Thunder, a franchise of the National Basketball Association. Highly involved in civic and charitable efforts, Bennett has served as chairman of the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce, the Oklahoma State Fair, Oklahoma Industries Authority, the Oklahoma Heritage Association and the Oklahoma Health Center Foundation. Bennett serves as a director of the Oklahoma City Industrial and Cultural Facilities Trust, the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum, and the Native American Cultural and Educational Authority of Oklahoma.

In 1997, Bennett was presented the Economic Development Citizen Leadership Award by the National Council of Urban Economic Development. In 2007, he was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame, and in 2008 was named “Oklahoman of the Year” by Oklahoma Today magazine. He was inducted into the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame in 2013.

Chris A. Purcell of Norman was elected to serve as the board’s executive secretary and vice president for university governance. Purcell, who has been re-elected each year since 1992, also serves as secretary of OU, Cameron University and Rogers State University. She was selected in 2005 by OU’s Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education as one of “75 Who Made A Difference” as well as being honored with the Walter Neustadt and with the UOSA Outstanding Administrator awards. In 2014, the Norman Chamber of Commerce selected Purcell as the recipient of their Women’s Leadership Award, and in 2012, she was honored by the Journal Record among 50 Making a Difference in Oklahoma. In addition to her other duties, she teaches courses in adult education, higher education and human relations. She earned her Bachelor of Arts, Master’s in Education and doctoral degrees, all from OU.