Skip Navigation

OU Dean, Professors Selected for Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

OU Dean, Professors Selected for Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame

September 03, 2020

Three educators at the University of Oklahoma have been selected as inductees into the 2020 Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame for their distinctive achievements and contributions to higher education.

JoLaine Draugalis, dean of the College of Pharmacy; David Sabatini, founding director of the Water Technologies for Emerging Regions Center and associate director of the Institute for Applied Surfactant Research in the Gallogly College of Engineering; and Daniel Resasco, Gallogly Chair of Chemical Engineering in the Gallogly College of Engineering; are among this year’s 11 inductees.

“We are incredibly proud of Dr. Draugalis, Dr. Sabatini and Dr. Resasco, who have worked hard throughout their careers to earn this prestigious honor,” said OU President Joseph Harroz Jr. “Their selection is a testament to their commitment to their students, research and the University of Oklahoma. We are fortunate to have world-class faculty like them who help advance our sacred purpose.”

Since 1994, the Oklahoma Higher Education Society has recognized individuals whose achievement and leadership in scholarship, teaching, research, administration, staff support, outreach and public service have brought honor and distinction to higher education in Oklahoma by inducting them into the Hall of Fame. To date, more than 200 individuals have been honored.

Draugalis has served as dean of the OU College of Pharmacy for more than 13 years, in which capacity she oversees more than 250 students and trainees and approximately 200 employees. She also is an Edith Kinney Gaylord Presidential Professor, David Ross Boyd Professor and Regent’s Professor, and she holds the Phil C. and Fern Ashby Endowed Dean’s Chair.

Under her leadership, faculty members have substantially increased their research publications, state and federal grant funding and national and international presentations. In 2014, the college received the AACP Lawrence C. Weaver Transformative Community Service Award for its commitment to addressing unmet community needs.

In addition to serving as dean, Draugalis is an active researcher. She conducts studies in pharmacy education program design, administration and evaluation; educational applications in pharmacoeconomic and outcomes research; and the scholarship of teaching and learning. She is the author of more than 125 peer-reviewed publications, book chapters and monographs.

She has won numerous awards, including a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, a Research Achievement Award in the Pharmaceutical Sciences from the American Pharmacists Association, and a National Leadership Award from Phi Lambda Sigma and Procter & Gamble Pharmaceuticals.

Draugalis earned her bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from Ferris State University, and both her master of education degree in educational psychology and Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences from the University of Arizona.

Sabatini is the director of the Water Technologies for Emerging Regions (WaTER) Center and serves as the associate director of the Institute for Applied Surfactant Research. He joined OU in 1989 and is a David Boyd Professor and Sun Oil Co. Endowed Chair of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science.

His research focuses on sustainable drinking water systems for developing countries, surfactant-based environmental and biofuel technologies, and understanding/characterizing contaminant transport and remediation in the subsurface.

He is the associate editor of the Journal of Contaminant Hydrology, associate editor of Journal of Surfactants and Detergents and an editorial board member of the Journal of Water, Sanitation and Hygiene for Development. He has co-authored or co-edited four books and more than 200 refereed journal publications.

Sabatini has received numerous awards, including the International Service Award from the U.S. National Chapter of International Association of Hydrogeologists, Oklahoma Medal for Excellence in Teaching from the Oklahoma Foundation of Excellence and the OU David L. Boren Award for Outstanding Global Engagement.

He earned his bachelor of science degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, his master of science degree from Memphis State University and his doctorate from Iowa State University, all in civil engineering.

Resasco is a professor in the Department of Chemical Engineering and holds the inaugural Gallogly Chair of Engineering. His research focuses on material synthesis, characterization of materials under reaction conditions and precise measurement of the catalytic behavior with the goal of understanding the relationship between the catalytic performance and the microscopic structure and composition of the material, in addition to the links between the synthesis process and the final catalyst. He has co-authored 300 articles and 30 patents.

In 2003, Resasco was named a George Lynn Cross Professor, the highest research honor bestowed by OU. He has also received the N.N. Bakhshi Lectureship Award in Chemical Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan, the Oklahoma Chemist of the Year Award from the American Chemical Society and was a finalist for the Small Times U.S. Innovator of the Year in 2007. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences of Argentina.

He earned his bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering from the Universidad Nacional del Sur in Argentina and his doctorate from Yale University.

About the University of Oklahoma

Founded in 1890, the University of Oklahoma is a public research university located in Norman, Oklahoma. OU serves the educational, cultural, economic and health care needs of the state, region and nation. For more information visit