Skip Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Skip Side Navigation

Faculty and Staff

Faculty


Karlos K. Hill, Ph.D.

Department Chair, African and African-American Studies
Associate Professor, African and African American Studies
Ph.D. University of Illinois

karlos.hill@ou.edu


Andrea Benjamin, Ph.D.

Assosciate Professor, African & African-American Studies
Ph. D. University of Michigan

andrea.benjamin@ou.edu


Jeanette R. Davidson, Ph.D., ACSW

Professor, African & African-American Studies
Ph.D. University of Texas – Arlington

jrdavidson@ou.edu


Kalenda Eaton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, African & African-American Studies
Ph.D. The Ohio State University


k.eaton1@ou.edu



Greg A. Graham, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, African & African American Studies
Ph.D. Temple University 

gregagraham@ou.edu

Staff


Mrs. Ruth Gomez

Program Administrative Assistant

(405) 325-2327
rsgomez@ou.edu


Sarah Olzawski

Academic Counselor

Ellison Hall, Room 124
(405) 325-4411
solzawski@ou.edu

Make Appointment

Adjunct Faculty


Marie Casimir

Adjunct Instructor, African & African-American Studies
MA North Park University, Chicago, IL


Byron Coleman, M.Div.

Adjunct Instructor, African and African-American Studies
M.Div. Eastern Baptist Theological Seminary

amos.b.coleman-1@ou.edu


Sharri L. Coleman, D.P.M.

Adjunct Instructor, African and African-American Studies
D.P.M. Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine

slcoleman@ou.edu


Melvin Hall, J.D.

Adjunct Instructor, African and African-American Studies
J.D. University of Oklahoma

mhall@riggsabney.com


Devale J. Long, M.S.W.

Adjunct Instructor, African and African-American Studies
M.S.W University of Oklahoma

djlong7htc@gmail.com


Kayla Storrs

Adjunct Instructor, African & African-American Studies
MA, University of Kentucky

kstorrs@ou.edu


Tammara D. Williams-Dias, M.Ed., M.Sc.

Adjunct Instructor, African and African-American Studies
Ph.D. Candidate Educational Psychology

twilliamsdias@ou.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Loretta E. Bass (Sociology)

Associate Professor  
Ph.D. University of Connecticut

lbass@ou.edu

Shannon Bert (Human Relations)

Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Notre Dame

bert@ou.edu 

Meta G, Carstarphen (Gaylord College of Journalism & Mass Communication)

Associate Dean 
Ph.D Texas Woman's University

mcarstarphen@ou.edu

Melissa Frey (Retired, Educational Psychology)

Associate Professor
Ph.D University of Nebraska

Melissa.Frey-1@ou.edu

Honorée Jeffers (English)

MFA University of Alabama 

hfjeffers@ou.edu

Catherine A. John (English)

Associate Professor 
Ph.D. University of California-Santa Cruz

cjohn@ou.edu

Ben G. Keppel (History)

Professor 
Ph.D. UCLA

bkeppel@ou.edu

Rita Keresztesi (English)

Ph.D. University of California

ritak@ou.edu

Bala Saho (History)

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D. Michigan State

Bsaho1@ou.edu

Sohail Shehada (Fine Arts)

Assistant Professor
Master of Fine Art, University of Oklahoma

Sohail.H.Shehada-2@ou.edu

Damario D. Solomon-Simmons

J.D. University of Oklahoma

Kelvin White (Library and Information Studies)

Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles

kwhite@ou.edu