Skip Navigation

Faculty

College of Arts and Sciences, Department of History, The University of Oklahoma
Skip Side Navigation

Faculty

Gary Anderson

Gary Clayton Anderson 
George Lynn Cross Research Professor 
Email: gcanderson@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 311 
Research: American Indian History, Ethnohistory 

Alfred Bradford

Alfred S. Bradford 
John Saxon Chair of Ancient History 
Email: abradford@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 422 
Research: Ancient Greek and Roman History

Kathleen Brosnan

Kathleen A. Brosnan 
Paul and Doris Eaton Travis Chair of Modern History 
Email: kbrosnan@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 820 
Research: U. S. Western and Environmental History, Urban and Legal History, and Public History

James Cane-Carrasco

James Cane-Carrasco 
Associate Professor 
Email: cane@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 317 
Research: Latin American History

David Chappell

David Chappell 
Rothbaum Professor of History 
Email: dchappell@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 421 
Research: Modern U. S. History

Jennifer Davis

Jennifer Davis 
Associate Professor 
Email: jennifer.j.davis@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 424 
Research: French History

Elyssa Faison

Elyssa Faison 
Associate Professor 
Email: efaison@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 312 
Research: Japanese History

Raphael Folsom

Raphael Folsom 
Associate Professor 
Email: raphael.folsom@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 308 
Research: Latin American History

Steven Gillon

Steven M. Gillon 
Professor 
Email: smgillon@ou.edu 
Office: 
Research: Modern U. S. History, Resident Historian of the History Channel

Ronnie Grinberg

Ronnie Grinberg 
Assistant Professor 
Email: grinberg@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 416 
Research:  American Jewish History, Modern U. S. History, Women's and Gender History

Robert Griswold

Robert L. Griswold 
Professor 
Email: rgriswold@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 804C 
Research: Recent U. S. and American Social History

Miriam Gross

Miriam Gross 
Associate Professor 
Email: mdgross@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 409B 
Research: Modern Chinese and Asian History 

James Hart

James S. Hart, Jr. 
Hudson Professor and Department Chair 
Email: jshart@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 406A 
Research: Tudor-Stuart England, Ireland

Sarah Hines

Sarah Hines
Assistant Professor
sarahthines@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 317 ph. 325-9064
Research:  Latin America and the Caribbean

 

 

Sandie Holguin

Sandie Holguin 
Associate Professor 
Email: sholguin@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 315 
Research: Modern European Intellectual and Cultural History, Modern Spain

Jennifer Holland

Jennifer Holland 
Assistant Professor 
Email: jennifer.holland@ou.edu 
Office:  DAHT 417 
Research: Gender and Women’s History; North American West; 20th c. U.S.

Anne Hyde

Anne Hyde 
Professor 
Email: anne.hyde@ou.edu 
Office: 
Research: 19th Century North American West, Native America, Race

Ben Keppel

Ben Keppel 
Professor 
Email: bkeppel@ou.edu 
Office: Copeland Hall 117 
Research: 20th Century United States, African-American History

Alan Levenson

Alan Levenson 
Schusterman/Josey Chair in Judaic History 
Email: alevenson@ou.edu 
Office: Cate Center 4 # 230 
Research: Jewish Intellectual, Literary, and Religious History

Roberta Magnusson

Roberta Magnusson 
Associate Professor 
Email: rmagnusson@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 822 
Research: Medieval European and Italian History

Adam Malka

Adam Malka
Assistant Professor
Email: acmalka@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 413 ph. 325-6143
Research: The Early U.S. Republic, North American Slavery, Law, Politics, and Society

 

 

R. Warren Metcalf

R. Warren Metcalf 
Associate Professor 
Email:  w.metcalf@ou.edu 
Office: Copeland #226 
Research: American Indian History, American West

Stephen H. Norwood

Stephen H. Norwood 
Professor 
Email: shnorwood@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 819 
Research: 20-century U. S., American Social and Labor History, Jewish and Holocaust Studies

Garret Olberding

Garret Olberding 
Associate Professor 
Email: golberding@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 313 
Research: Ancient Chinese History

Bala Saho

Bala Saho 
Associate Professor 
Email: bsaho1@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 412 
Research: African History, Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Colonialism

Carsten Schapkow

Carsten Schapkow 
Associate Professor 
Email: cschapkow@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 316 
Research: Modern Jewish History, German History

Rhona Seidelman

Rhona Seidelman 
Assistant Professor 
Email: rds@ou.edu 
Office: Cate Center 4 #210 
Research:  Israel, immigration, public health, quarantine

Rachel A. Shelden

Rachel A. Shelden 
Associate Professor 
Email: rachel.shelden@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 409C 
Research: Nineteenth-Century American Political & Cultural History, the U.S. Civil War, Slavery & Race

Shmuel Shepkaru

Shmuel Shepkaru 
Schusterman Professor of Jewish Intellectual and Religious History 
Email: shepkaru@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 305F 
Research: Late Antiquity and Medieval Jewish History, Hebrew

Melissa K. Stockdale

Melissa K. Stockdale 
Professor 
Email: mstockdale @ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 314 
Research: Russian and Soviet History

Janet Ward

Janet Ward 
Professor 
Faculty Director, OU Humanities Forum 
Email: janet.ward@ou.edu 
Office: Carnegie Building 202/203 
Urban Studies, Visual Culture, Memory Studies, 20th-Century Germany, Border Studies

Jane Wickersham

Jane Wickersham 
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Email: jwickersham@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 806 
Research: Italian and Reformation History

David Wrobel

David Wrobel 
Professor, David L. Boren Professor and Merrick Chair of Western American History 
Email: david.wrobel@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 419 
Research: North American West and American Intellectual and Cultural History

Affiliated Faculty

NameDepartmentEmail
Ben AlpersHonorsbalpers@ou.edu
Peter BarkerHistory of Sciencebarkerp@ou.edu
Kevin ButterfieldInstitute for American Constitutional Heritage/ Classicsbutterfield@ou.edu
Rangar ClineReligious Studiesrangar.cline@ou.edu
Kathleen CrowtherHistory of Sciencekcrowther@ou.edu
Kyle HarperSr. Vice President and Provost, Classics & Letterskyleharper@ou.edu
Robert LifsetHonorsrobertlifset@ou.edu
Afshin MarashiInternational & Area Studiesamarashi@ou.edu
Wilfred McClayCenter for History of Libertywmcclay@ou.edu
Alan McPhersonInternational & Area Studiesmcpherson@ou.edu
Andrew PorwancherInstitute for American Constitutional Heritage/ Classicsporwancher@ou.edu
Lindsay RobertsonLawlrobertson@ou.edu
Kathryn SchumakerClassicsschumaker@ou.edu
Sara TracyHonorsswtracy@ou.edu

Emeritus Faculty

NameDisciplineEmail
Gary D. Cohen 
Modern Central Europe 
gcohen@umn.edu
Russell D. BuhiteU.S. History 
rbuhite@mst.edu
Gordon Drummond 
German History 
drummondgordon@hotmail.com
Albert L. Hurtado American West, Native American ahurtado@ou.edu
Paul A. Gilje
U.S. History, Revolutionary, Maritimepgilje@ou.edu
Paul Glad U.S.  Historypwglad@sbcglobal.net
Judith S. Lewis-Phillips
Modern Britain, British EmpireJudith.S.Lewis-1@ou.edu
David Levy U.S. History dwlevy@ou.edu
Donald J. Pisani U.S. History djpisani@ou.edu
William W. Savage, Jr.U.S. History 
Robert ShalhopeU.S. History robert-shalhope@ou.edu
Daniel C. Snell
Ancient Near Eastdcsnell@ou.edu
Norman Stillman 
Judaic History 
 nstillman@ou.edu

In Memoriam

Wayne Morgan

Wayne Morgan 
Former OU History Department Chair
Professor of American HIstory

Jidlaph Kamoche

Jidlaph Kamoche
Former Director of OU African/African-American Studies
Professor of African History