Skip Navigation

People

College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Philosophy, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

People

 

Faculty

Monte Cook

(Ph.D., Iowa), Professor; History of Modern Philosophy, Metaphysics.
Email: mcook@ou.edu

Steve Ellis

(Ph.D., Rutgers), Associate Professor and Graduate Liaison; Decision Theory, Philosophy of Economics, Philosophy of Mind, Ethics. LGBTQ Ally.
Email: sellis@ou.edu

Sherri Irvin

(Ph.D., Princeton), Presidential Research Professor of Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies, Co-Director of the Center for Social Justice; Aesthetics, Philosophy of Race. LGBTQ Ally.
Email: sirvin@ou.edu

Neal Judisch

(Ph.D., Texas), Associate Professor; Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mind and Action, Philosophy of Religion.
Email: neal.judisch@ou.edu

Martin Montminy

(Ph.D., Montreal), Professor; Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, Metaphysics.
Email: montminy@ou.edu

Amy Olberding

(Ph.D., Hawai'i), President's Associates Presidential Professor; Early Chinese Philosophy, Ethics.
Email: aolberding@ou.edu

Matt Priselac

(Ph.D., North Carolina), Assistant Professor; History of Modern Philosophy.
Email: mdpriselac@ou.edu

Wayne D. Riggs

(Ph.D., North Carolina), Professor and Chair; Epistemology, Value Theory. LGBTQ Ally and Green Zone.
Email: wriggs@ou.edu

Edward Sankowski

(Ph.D., Cornell), Professor; Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Social Science, Philosophy of Education, Aesthetics.
Email: esankowski@ou.edu

Zev Trachtenberg

(Ph.D., Columbia), Associate Professor; Social and Political Philosophy, Environmental Political Theory, Rousseau.
Email: ztrachtenberg@ou.edu

Linda Zagzebski

(Ph.D., UCLA), Kingfisher College Chair of the Philosophy of Religion and Ethics; George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Epistemology.
Email: lzagzebski@ou.edu

Affiliate Faculty

Brian Chance

(Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania), Affiliate Faculty; Kant, History of Modern Philosophy.
Email: brianchance@ou.edu

Greg Heiser

(Ph.D., Penn State; J.D., University of Oklahoma), Affiliate Faculty; Associate Provost and Director of Academic Integrity Programs; Philosophy of Law, Applied Ethics, Continental Philosophy.
Email: gheiser@ou.edu

Jeffrey Purinton

(Ph.D. in Classics, Princeton), Adjunct Lecturer; Ancient Philosophy, Ethics.

Retired Faculty

Neera Badhwar

(Ph.D., Toronto), Professor Emeritus; Ethics, Moral Psychology, Political Philosophy, International Ethics.
Email: nbad@ou.edu

Hugh Benson

(Ph.D., Michigan), George Lynn Cross Research Professor; Samuel Roberts Noble Presidential Professor; Ancient Philosophy, Epistemology. LGBTQ Ally.
Email: hbenson@ou.edu

Reinaldo Elugardo

(Ph.D., Western Ontario), Professor Emeritus; Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language.
Email: relugardo@ou.edu

James Hawthorne

(Ph.D., Minnesota), Professor Emeritus; Formal Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Logic and Mathematics, Formal Logic, Artificial Intelligence.
Email: hawthorne@ou.edu

Kenneth R. Merrill

(Ph.D., Northwestern), Professor Emeritus; History of Modern Philosophy, American Philosophy, Whitehead.
Email: kmerrill@ou.edu

Chris Swoyer

(Ph.D., Minnesota), Professor Emeritus & Affiliated Professor of Cognitive Psychology; Philosophy of Psychology & Social Science, Applied Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science. Sooner Ally.
Email: cswoyer@ou.edu