Skip Navigation
Electrical & Computer EngineeringThe University of OklahomaElectrical & Computer Engineering


The School of Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE), within the College of Engineering at OU, is proud to celebrate its excellent students and nationally recognized faculty.  Several recent award-winning examples are noted below.  Within ECE, students regularly engage in a variety of hands-on projects as part of their curriculum with professors who are engaged in cutting edge research.   

Student Award Winners:

N. Arefin wins McNair Choice Award

N. Arefin, McNair Choice award from the Graduate College.

See More Student Award Winners


Dr. Chad Davis received the prestigious Brandon H. Griffith award at the annual E-Week Banquet at the University of Oklahoma.  This college-wide award was established in 1969 in honor of Professor Brandon H. Griffith to recognize excellence in teaching and extraordinary support for students.

Dr. Rui Q. Yang was recently elected a fellow of The Optical Society (OSA). He is being recognized for the invention and development of the mid-infrared interband cascade laser and related optoelectronic devices. Dr. Yang also was recently elevated to Fellow member of the IEEE for his contributions to the mid-infrared interband cascade laser and related optoelectronic devices.

Dr. Jim Sluss (Electrical & Computer Engineering), Dr. Deborah Trytten (Computer Science) and Dr. Randa Shehab (Industrial & Systems Engineering) served as general co-chairs for the Frontiers in Education conference in Oklahoma City, OK, which was hosted by the College of Engineering. The conference welcomed about 480 engineering educators from the U.S. and abroad for a three day conference to talk about the latest advances in engineering education. The CoE had about 30 participants – faculty and graduate students in attendance.

Dr. J. R. Cruz is serving as a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, 2011-2013.  Focus area:  Low, Medium and High-Density Parity-Check Codes: An Integrated View of Error Correction Coding

Dr. J. Jiang was recently named the OGE Endowed Chair Professor of Power Systems.

Dr. P. Verma, A. Ghosh, J. Sluss, S. Cheng, M. Martens, R. Huck, S. Chen, and A. Kaul, “Remote cervical dilation monitoring system and method,” United States Patent No. 8,100,840, January 24, 2012.

Dr. M. Yeary, J. Toplicar, P. Doucette, and E. Foltz, “Single Channel Semi-Active Radar Seeker,” Publication Number:  US 2012/0169524 A1.  Publication Date:  July 5, 2012.

Dr. P. McCann, Norman, Okla., for a "method for thin film thermoelectric module fabrication."  Patent no. 8,216,871.  2012.

Dr. J. Sluss was selected to serve as a General Co-Chair of the 43rd Annual Frontiers in Education (FIE) Conference, which is the major international conference about educational innovations and research in engineering and computing.

Dr. N. Goodman has been selected to chair the Applications technical track at the 2014 IEEE International Radar Conference.

Adjunct ECE Professor R. Palmer has been selected to serve as the Emerging Technologies session chair at the AMS Radar Meteorology Conference.