Skip Navigation

Faculty

Skip Side Navigation

Faculty

Art History, School of Visual Arts


Rozmeri Basic
Professor

Interests: Interdisciplinary and cross-cultural issues in Carolingian, Byzantine, and post-Byzantine traditions

rozmeri@ou.edu


Susan Caldwell
Professor Emerita 
David Ross Boyd Professor

Interests: Medieval Spanish architecture; medieval and Renaissance art

shcaldwell@ou.edu 


Allison Palmer
Professor

Interests: Early Italian Renaissance; Italian Baroque architecture; modern architecture

apalmer@ou.edu

Classics & Letters Department, College of Arts & Sciences


David Anderson   

Associate professor
Senior Fellow of Dunham College

Interests: The poetry and drama of the English Renaissance, particularly the relationship between literature and religion

dkanderson@ou.edu


Kyle Harper 
Professor

Interests:
The social and economic history of the period spanning the Roman Empire and the early Middle Ages

kyleharper@ou.edu


Samuel J. Huskey  
Professor

Interests: Paleography, manuscript traditions, and the transmission of classical literature; Boccaccio's Latin poetry and the late medieval reception of Lucan

huskey@ou.edu


Scott Johnson 
Associate Professor
Joseph F. Paxton Presidential Professor

Interests: Greek literature in late antiquity; multilingualism in the late antique East; travel, pilgrimage, cartography; Syriac language and literature

sfj@ou.edu

English Department, College of Arts & Sciences


Joyce Coleman
Rudolph C. Bambas Professor of Medieval English Literature and Culture 
Director, University of Oklahoma Center for Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Interests: Medieval literary reception, performance, and patronage; "the iconography of the book" in medieval manuscripts

joyce.coleman@ou.edu


Bill Endres 
Associate Professor

Interests: Early medieval manuscripts; digital humanities

bill.endres@ou.edu


Joseph Mansky
Assistant professor

Interests: Early modern literature; libel; theater and social history; rhetoric and poetics; political theory

jmansky@ou.edu


Daniel Ransom 
Professor Emeritus

Interests: Chaucer; Dante; Old and Middle English literature; English historical linguistics

djransom@ou.edu

History Department, College of Arts & Sciences


James S. Hart, Jr.   
Professor Emeritus

Interests: Tudor-Stuart England and Ireland

jshart@ou.edu


Roberta Magnusson 
Associate Professor

Interests: Medieval Europe, particularly Italy; the origins and development of public services in medieval English cities

magnusson@ou.edu


Shmuel Shepkaru
Schusterman Professor of Jewish Intellectual and Religious History

Interests: Late antique and medieval Jewish history; Hebrew; the history of heaven and hell

shepkaru@ou.edu


Jane Wickersham
Associate Professor

Interests: Renaissance Italian history, particularly the Italian Inquisition

jwickersham@ou.edu

History of Science Department, College of Arts & Sciences


Peter Barker 
Professor

Interests: History and historiography of the Scientific Revolution; 19th and 20th-century physical science and psychology; philosophy of science

barkerp@ou.edu


Kathleen Crowther
Associate Professor

Interests: Early modern science and medicine; body and gender in early modern Europe; science and religion

kcrowther@ou.edu


Kerry Magruder
Curator and John H. and Drusa B. Cable Chair of the History of Science Collections 
Associate Professor of Bibliography
Associate Professor of the History of Science

Interests: 17th and 18th-century theories of the Earth; early geology, cosmology, visual representation; history of the book; science and religion

kmagruder@ou.edu


Rienk Vermij 
Professor

Interests: Cartesian natural philosophy; Copernicanism; early modern meteorology; Enlightenment science and religion; science in the Netherlands

rienk.vermij@ou.edu

Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics, College of Arts & Sciences


Luis Cortest
Professor, Spanish

Interests: Spanish religious writers of the 16th century; medieval Spanish literature; the history of Spanish scholasticism and natural-law theory

lcortest@ou.edu


A. Robert Lauer  
Professor, Spanish

Interests: Golden Age drama, poetry, and prose; film studies

arlauer@ou.edu


Andreea Marculescu 
Lecturer, French

Interests: The history of psychiatry and narratives of mental illnesses in medieval and early modern European literature; disability studies; history of witchcraft and demonology; affect studies and emotions

andreea.marculescu@ou.edu


Roberto Pesce  
Assistant Professor, Italian

Interests: Medieval literature written in Latin and Italian; autobiography and historiography in the Middle Ages

roberto.pesce@ou.edu


Joseph M. Sullivan
Associate Professor, German

Interests: Arthurian literature; medieval Germanic literature; modern and popular representations of the Middle Ages

jsullivan@ou.edu


Logan E. Whalen 
Professor, French

Interests: Medieval French literature; Arthurian texts; Chrétien de Troyes; Marie de France

lwhalen@ou.edu

Musicology Department, School of Music


Eugene Enrico
Ruth Verne David Reaugh Professor of Music 
Director, Collegium Musicum
Artistic Director, Accademia Filarmonica

Interests: Renaissance and Baroque music

ejenrico@ou.edu


Jennifer Saltzstein 
Associate Professor
Presidential Professor of Music

Interests: The music literature of medieval France, particularly Adam de la Halle

jennifersaltzstein@ou.edu

Religious Studies Program, College of Arts & Sciences


Rangar H. Cline
Assistant Professor

Interests: The relationship between Greek and Roman religions, early Christianity, and Judaism in the Roman world; the economics of pilgrimage

rangar.cline@ou.edu


David Vishanoff
Associate Professor

Interests: Islamic thought and legal theory; interactions between religious communities; modern Qur'anic hermaneutics

vishanoff@ou.edu

Women's and Gender Studies, College of Arts & Sciences


Carrie Schroeder
Professor, Women's and Gender Studies

Interests: Cultural history of early Christianity; gender studies; digital humanities

ctschroeder@ou.edu