Skip Navigation

Faculty

Skip Side Navigation

Faculty

Gary Anderson

Gary Clayton Anderson 
Professor
George Lynn Cross Research Professor
Email: gcanderson@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 311 
Research: American Indian History, Ethnohistory 

Alfred Bradford

Alfred S. Bradford 
Professor
John Saxon Chair of Ancient History 
Email: abradford@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 422 
Research: Ancient Greek and Roman History

Kathleen Brosnan

Kathleen A. Brosnan 
Associate Professor
Paul H. and Doris Eaton Travis Chair in Modern American History 
Email: kbrosnan@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 820 
Research: U. S. Western and Environmental History, Urban and Legal History, and Public History

James Cane-Carrasco

Jay Casey
Lecturer
Jcasey@ou.edu
Office DAHT 308
Research:  American Wars of the Twentieth Century

James Cane-Carrasco

James Cane-Carrasco 
Associate Professor 
Email: cane@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 312
Research: Latin American History

David Chappell

David Chappell 
Professor
Irene and Julian J. Rothbaum Professor of History 
Email: dchappell@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 421 
Research: human rights and social movements, African-American history, economic history, intellectual history
curriculum vitae

Jennifer Davis

Jennifer Davis 
Associate Professor
Co-editor, Journal of Women’s History
Email: jennifer.j.davis@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 424
Research: French History

Jennifer Davis

Lauren Duval
Assistant Professor  
Email: lduval@ou.edu
Office DAHT 416
Research: Early America, American Revolution, Women’s & Gender History

Jennifer Davis

Lewis Eliot
Assistant Professor  
Email: lewis.eliot@ou.edu
Office DAHT 414
Research: Slavery and Abolition, Race and Racism, British Empire, African Diaspora, Atlantic World

Elyssa Faison

Elyssa Faison 
Associate Professor
Department Chair
L.R. Brammer Jr Presidential Professor
Email: efaison@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 406
Research: Japanese History

Raphael Folsom

Raphael Folsom 
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Email: raphael.folsom@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 821
Research: Latin American History

Steven Gillon

Steven M. Gillon 
Professor 
Email: smgillon@ou.edu 
Office: 
Research: Modern U. S. History, Resident Historian of the History Channel

Ronnie Grinberg

Ronnie Grinberg 
Assistant Professor 
Email: grinberg@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 416 
Research:  American Jewish History, Modern U. S. History, Women's and Gender History

Miriam Gross

Miriam Gross 
Associate Professor 
Email: mdgross@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 409B 
Research: Modern Chinese and Asian History 

Sarah Hines

Sarah Hines
Assistant Professor
Email: sarahthines@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 315
Research:  Latin America and the Caribbean

Sandie Holguin

Sandie Holguin 
Professor 
Co-editor, Journal of Women’s History
Email: sholguin@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 803C 
Research: Modern European Intellectual and Cultural History, Modern Spain

Jennifer Holland

Jennifer Holland 
Associate Professor 
Book Review Editor, Journal of Women’s History
Email: jennifer.holland@ou.edu 
Office:  DAHT 423 
Research: Gender and Women’s History; North American West; 20th c. U.S.

Anne Hyde

Anne Hyde 
Professor 
Editor, Western Historical Quarterly
Email: anne.hyde@ou.edu 
Office: MH 556
Research: 19th Century North American West, Native America, Race

Ben Keppel

Ben Keppel 
Professor 
Email: bkeppel@ou.edu 
Office: Copeland Hall 117 
Research: 20th Century United States, African-American History

Alan Levenson

Alan Levenson 
Professor
Schusterman/Josey Chair in Judaic History 
Email: alevenson@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 305
Research: Jewish Intellectual, Literary, and Religious History

Roberta Magnusson

Roberta Magnusson 
Associate Professor 
Email: rmagnusson@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 822 
Research: Medieval European and Italian History

Adam Malka

Adam Malka
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Email: acmalka@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 413 
Research: The Early U.S. Republic, North American Slavery, Law, Politics, and Society

 

 

R. Warren Metcalf

R. Warren Metcalf 
Associate Professor 
Email:  w.metcalf@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 419
Research: American Indian History, American West

Stephen H. Norwood

Stephen H. Norwood 
Professor 
Email: shnorwood@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 819 
Research: 20-century U. S., American Social and Labor History, Jewish and Holocaust Studies

Garret Olberding

Garret Olberding 
Associate Professor 
Email: golberding@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 313 
Research: Ancient Chinese History

Bala Saho

Bala Saho 
Associate Professor 
Email: bsaho1@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 412 
Research: African History, Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Colonialism

Carsten Schapkow

Carsten Schapkow 
Associate Professor
L.R. Brammer Jr. Presidential Professor
Email: cschapkow@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 316 
Research: Modern Jewish History, German History

David Wrobel

Katy Schumaker 
Associate Professor
Edith Kinney Gaylord Presidential Professor
Email: schumaker@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 417  
Research:20th Century U.S. History

Rhona Seidelman

Rhona Seidelman 
Associate Professor
Schusterman Chair in Modern Israel Studies
Email: rds@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 409D
Research:  Israel, immigration, public health, quarantine

Shmuel Shepkaru

Shmuel Shepkaru 
Associate Professor
Schusterman Professor in Jewish Religion and Intellectual History
Email: shepkaru@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 305F 
Research: Late Antiquity and Medieval Jewish History, Hebrew

Cori Simon
Assistant Professor
Email: corilsimon@ou.edu
Office: DAHT 317
Research: Native North America, 19th-Century US West, Race, Ethnicity and Indigeneity

Melissa K. Stockdale

Melissa K. Stockdale 
Professor
Brian E. and Sandra O'Brien Presidential Professor 
Email: mstockdale @ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 420
Research: Russian and Soviet History

Janet Ward

Janet Ward 
Professor
Senior Associate Vice President for Research & Partnerships
L.R. Brammer Jr Presidential Professor
Email: janet.ward@ou.edu 
Office: Office of the Vice President for Research & Partnerships
Research: Urban Studies, Visual Culture, Memory Studies, 20th-Century Germany, Border Studies

Jane Wickersham

Jane Wickersham 
Associate Professor 
Email: jwickersham@ou.edu 
Office: DAHT 314
Research: Italian and Reformation History

David Wrobel

David Wrobel 
Professor
Dean, OU Dodge Family College of Arts and Sciences
David L. Boren Professor
Merrick Chair of Western American History 
Email: david.wrobel@ou.edu 
Office: ELLH 318  
Research: North American West and American Intellectual and Cultural History

Affiliated Faculty

NameDepartmentEmail
Ben AlpersHonorsbalpers@ou.edu
Peter BarkerHistory of Sciencebarkerp@ou.edu
Rangar ClineReligious Studiesrangar.cline@ou.edu
Kathleen CrowtherHistory of Sciencekcrowther@ou.edu
Kalenda EatonAfrican and African American Studiesk.eaton1@ou.edu
Kyle HarperSr. Vice President and Provost, Classics & Letterskyleharper@ou.edu
Karlos HillChair, African and African-American Studieskarlos.hill@ou.edu
Robert LifsetHonorsrobertlifset@ou.edu
Victor MaqqueLatin American historian and Operations Manager, Latin American Sustainability Initiativevmaqque@ou.edu
Lindsay MarshallGateway to Belonging and Educational Leadership and Policy Studieslsmarshall@ou.edu
Afshin MarashiInternational & Area Studiesamarashi@ou.edu
Aparna NairHistory of Scienceaparna.nair@ou.edu
Andrew PorwancherInstitute for American Constitutional Heritage/ Classicsporwancher@ou.edu
Lindsay RobertsonLawlrobertson@ou.edu
Caroline (Carrie) SchroederWomen's and Gender Studiesctschroeder@ou.edu
Sara TracyHonorsswtracy@ou.edu
Mirelsie VelázquezEducational Leadership and Policy Studiesmirelsie.velazquez@ou.edu
Rienk VermijHistory of Sciencerienk.vermij@ou.edu
Traci Brynne VoylesWomen's and Gender Studiesvoyles@ou.edu

Emeritus Faculty

NameFieldEmail
Gary D. Cohen Modern Central Europe gcohen@umn.edu
Gordon Drummond German History drummondgordon@hotmail.com
James S.Hart, Jr.Tudor-Stuart England, Irelandjshart@ou.edu
Albert L. Hurtado American West, Native American ahurtado@ou.edu
Paul A. GiljeU.S. History, Revolutionary, Maritimepgilje@ou.edu
Robert L. GriswoldRecent U.S. and American Societyrgriswold@ou.edu
Judith S. Lewis-PhillipsModern Britain, British EmpireJudith.S.Lewis-1@ou.edu
David Levy U.S. History dwlevy@ou.edu
Donald J. Pisani U.S. History djpisani@ou.edu
William W. Savage, Jr.U.S. History 
Robert ShalhopeU.S. History robert-shalhope@ou.edu
Daniel C. SnellAncient Near Eastdcsnell@ou.edu
Norman Stillman Judaic History  nstillman@ou.edu

In Memoriam

Wayne Morgan

Wayne Morgan 
Former OU History Department Chair
Professor of American HIstory

Jidlaph Kamoche

Jidlaph Kamoche
Former Director of OU African/African-American Studies
Professor of African History