Skip Navigation

Faculty

Skip Side Navigation

DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Loretta Bass


Professor and Chair
Ph.D., University of Connecticut, 1998
Office: KAUF 301
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: lbass@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Voting, International Migration, Child Labor, Stratification Issues, Fertility, Demography

View Profile

GRADUATE LIAISON

B. Mitchell Peck


Associate Professor, Graduate Liaison
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 2002
Office: KAUF 324
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: bmpeck@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Health and Medicine, Health Disparities, Stratification, Research Methods

View Profile

PRIMARY FACULTY

Ann Beutel


Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1997
Office: KAUF 329A
Phone: (405) 325-2784
Email: ambeutel@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Education, Family, Gender, Social Demography, Social Psychology, Social Stratification

View Profile

Stephanie Burge


Associate Professor
Ph.D., Florida State University, 2006
Office: KAUF 306
Phone: (405) 325-2797
Email: sburge@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Sociology of Education, Health and Aging, Work and Family

View Profile

Thomas Burns


 

Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1990
Office: KAUF 323
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: tburns@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Comparative and Historical Development, Environment and Human Ecology, Social Theory, Social Institutions, Communication and Rhetoric, Enviromental Ethics, Culture and Social Change

View Profile

John Carl


Associate Professor - Renewable Term 
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2002
Office: KAUF 329D
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: jcarl@ou.edu

Criminology,  Labeling, Criminal Justice, U.S. Prison system, Sociological Theory, Teaching Sociology, and Inside-Out

View Profile

Ian Carrillo


Assistant Professor
Ph.D.,  University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2018
Office: KAUF 343
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: icarrillo@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Race and Ethnicity, Environmental Sociology, Economic Sociology, Environmental Justice, Qualitative Sociology

View Profile

Constance Chapple


Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1999
Office: KAUF 332A
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: cchapple@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Criminological theory, group differences in crime, peers and crime, child abuse and neglect, research methods

View Profile

Christopher R.H. Garneau


Assistant Professor - Renewable Term
Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2012
Office: KAUF TBD
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: cgarneau@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Political Sociology, Sociology of Religion, Social Psychology, Research Methods, and Environment Sociology

View Profile

Julie Gerlinger


Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 2017
Office: KAUF 317
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: jgerlinger@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Criminology, Education, Public Policy, Inequality, Juvenile Delinquency, Research Methods

View Profile

Christopher Hill


Assistant Professor - Renewable Term
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2004
Office: KAUF 309
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: christopher.hill@ou.edu

Research Areas: Criminology, Criminal Justice and Juvenile Justice

View Profile

Trina Hope


Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1997
Office: KAUF 303
Phone: (405) 325-3647
Email: thope@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Criminological Theory testing (control theories especially), the Family and Crime, Gender and Crime

View Profile

Annabel Ipsen


Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2016
Office: KAUF 340
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: aipsen@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: International development, agri-food systems, gender, political economy, environmental sociology, qualitative sociology

View Profile

John Leverso


Assistant Professor
OU ICPSR Liaison
Ph.D., University of Washington 2020
Office: KAUF 331
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: jleverso@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Criminology, Gangs, Gender, Race/Ethnicity, Urban Sociology, Incarceration, Digital Social Sciences

View Profile

Erin Maher


Associate Professor 
Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington, 2000
Office: KAUF 331
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: erin.maher@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Child Abuse and Neglect, Early Childhood, Poverty

View Profile

Samuel Perry


Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2015
Office: KAUF 335A
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: samperry@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Religion, Culture, Families, Race/Ethnicity, Gender/Sexuality, Inequality, Collective Action

View Profile

Martin Piotrowski


Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of North Carolina, 2006
Office: KAUF 316
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: piotrow@ou.edu

Research Areas: Migration, Social Networks, Inter-generational Relations, Household Demography, and Quantitative Research Methods

View Profile

Cyrus Schleifer


Associate Professor
Ph.D., Duke University, 2015
Office: KAUF 343
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: cyrus.schleifer@ou.edu
Website: www.cyrus-schleifer.com
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Quantitative Methods, Sociology of Religion, Longitudinal/Panel Statistics, Clergy, Occupational Inequality

View Profile

Dan Wang


Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2022
Office: KAUF TBD
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: Dan.wang@huskers.unl.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Vulnerable Families, Culture, Evaluative Research, Research Methods

View Profile

Meredith Worthen


Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas, 2009
Office: KAUF 321
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: mgfworthen@ou.edu
Website: http://meredithworthenphd.com
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Research Areas: Deviance; LGBTQ Stigma; Feminist/Queer Criminology

View Profile

AFFILIATED FACULTY

Laura A. Bray


Affiliated Faculty
Research Scientist, Center for Applied Social Research
PhD, North Carolina State University, 2021
5 Partners Place, Ste 4100
Phone: 405-325-2267
Email: laura.bray@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/they

Research Areas: Environmental Sociology, Environmental Justice, Rural Sociology, Health and Wellbeing, Social Movements

Webpage

Manata Hashemi


 

Affiliated Faculty
Farzaneh Family Assistant Professor of Iranian Studies
Farzaneh Hall, Room 212
Email: hashemi@ou.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers

Webpage

Sara A. Mata


 

Affiliated Faculty
Research Associate
Vice President for Research and Partnerships
Email: sara.mata@ou.edu

J. Tom Mueller


 

Affiliated Faculty
Research Assistant Professor
Dept. of Geography & Environmental Sustainability
University of Oklahoma
Email: tom.mueller@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Rural Sociology, Demography, Environment, Well-being, Public Health

Webpage

PROJECT DIRECTORS

Angela Harnden


 

Project Director, Parent-Child Assistance Program (PCAP)
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2005
Office:  308 Kaufman
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Emailaharnden@ou.edu
PCAP email: pcap@ou.edu
PCAP phone: (405) 876-2095

View Profile

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Barbara Borden


 

Adjunct  Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma, 2014
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: ann.borden@ou.edu

Nicholas Membrez-Weiler



Adjunct Lecturer
Ph.D Canidate,  North Carolina State University (expected 2022)
Office: KAUF 308
Phone: (405) 325-1751
Email: njmw@ou.edu
Pronouns: he/him/his

Research Areas: Organizations, Organizational wrongdoing, white-collar and corporate crime, sociology of work, qualitative methods, economic sociology

EMERITUS FACULTY

Wilbur J. Scott


 

Emeritus Chair and Professor
Department of Sociology, University of Oklahoma
Emeritus Professor Department of Behavioral Sciences & Leadership
U.S. Air Force Academy
 Emailsonny1542@gmail.com

Susan F. Sharp


 

David Ross Boyd Professor/Presidential Professor Emerita
Email: ssharp@ou.edu

View Profile

Craig St. John


 

Professor Emeritus
Email: cstjohn@ou.edu

View Profile