Skip Navigation

African Studies Institute

OU College of International Studies, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark

African Studies Institute

The African Studies Institute (ASI) at the University of Oklahoma is an emerging, interdisciplinary center dedicated to research and the study of Africa, as well as building a community of those interested in Africa in the state of Oklahoma.

The Africa Studies Institute is a part of vibrant and growing resources in Middle East and North Africa studies at the University of Oklahoma. For more information on these resources and programs, visit our new MENA at OU page.

Events & Announcements

Announcing the African Studies Institute Study Abroad Scholarship!

The African Studies Institute is pleased to provide scholarships of $750 each for a limited number of students studying abroad with the Summer Faculty-Led program in Tanzania


  • Letter of support from a faculty member (in addition to the letter of support for the study abroad application)
  • One-page statement describing applicant's need for financial assistance, educational and personal goals, and how participating in a study abroad program in Tanzania would contribute to these goals. 

A selection committee meets each cycle to review applications and award decisions are made based on demonstrated need of student and overall strength of application.

DEADLINE: March 3, 2023

Due to a large number of applicants, late applications cannot be accepted.

For additional questions about the scholarship opportunity, please contact Dr. Michael Soreghan from the African Studies Institute at


Check back soon for upcoming events.


Video of "Military Coups and Human Rights in Africa," with Sètondji Roland Adjovi, International Law Specialist, March 8, 2022.

Video of "Precolonial Legacies in Contemporary Public Goods Delivery: Evidence from Decentralized West Africa" with Martha Wilfahrt, February 24, 2022.

Global BLM student roundtable, held Thursday, September 17, 2020


Thomas Fenn

Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology


Rita Keresztesi
Associate Professor, 
Department of English

Natalie Letsa
Wick Cary Asst. Professor of Political Economy, Dept. of International & Area Studies

Loretta Bass

Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology
Organizing Director, African Studies Institute
Meta G. Carstarphen

Professor, Gaylord College of Journalism & Communication
Affiliate Faculty, Clara Luper Department of
African & African-American Studies

Jeanette R. Davidson


Professor, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American
Zermarie Deacon
Associate Professor, Department of Human
Kalenda EatonAssociate Professor, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American
Greg A. Graham
Associate Professor, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American
Betty J. Harris 
Professor, Department of
John C. Harris
Associate Professor, Division of Regional and City Planning, Christopher C. Gibbs College of
Karlos K. Hill
Associate Professor and Department Chair, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American

Jane Irungu

Associate Provost, Inclusive Faculty Excellence
Daniel Mains

Associate Professor of Anthropology and African Studies, Honors
James Olufowote

Associate Professor, Department of
Andreana Prichard
Associate Professor of African History, Honors College
Affiliate Faculty, Departments of History and International & Area Studies
Bala Saho
Associate Professor, Department of
Michael J. Soreghan
Assistant Professor, Mewbourne College of Earth & Energy School of
Elanie Steyn
Associate Professor and Journalism Area Head, Gaylord College of Journalism &
Bret Wallach
Professor, Department of
Janette Wallis
Lecturer, Environmental


The Ambassador Edward J. Perkins Scholarship
The Ambassador Edward J. Perkins Scholarship was created to assist University of Oklahoma students to pursue studies in Africa and other strategic areas. Students from overseas may also be supported to come to the University of Oklahoma for study (see details regarding admissions for international students).  This fund was established in the memory of the late Marjorie Schenfeld Stewart.

The Millie Schafer Sitzman Award
The Millie Schafer Sitzman Award was created to assist University of Oklahoma students to pursue studies in Africa.

The David L. Boren College of International Studies Board of Visitors Scholarship
The Board of Visitors Study Abroad Scholarship was created out of the initiative and generosity of advisors to, and constituents of, the David L. Boren College of International Studies at The University of Oklahoma. The scholarship is unique in that it emphasizes the value of study abroad experiences in destinations that are typically underrepresented.

Past Events