Skip Navigation

African Studies Institute

OU College of International Studies, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark

African Studies Institute

The African Studies Institute (ASI) at the University of Oklahoma is an emerging, interdisciplinary center dedicated to research and the study of Africa, as well as building a community of those interested in Africa in the state of Oklahoma.

Events & Announcements

West African Film, History, and Culture: A Roundtable Conversation

October 24, 2 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.
OMU Scholars Room

Reclaiming African History, Culture, and Languages: A Roundtable Discussion

October 26, 1 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.
Meacham Auditorium, OMU

The Africa Studies Institute is a part of vibrant and growing resources in Middle East and North Africa studies at the University of Oklahoma. For more information on these resources and programs, visit our new MENA at OU page.

Media

Video of "Military Coups and Human Rights in Africa," with Sètondji Roland Adjovi, International Law Specialist, March 8, 2022.




Video of "Precolonial Legacies in Contemporary Public Goods Delivery: Evidence from Decentralized West Africa" with Martha Wilfahrt, February 24, 2022.







Global BLM student roundtable, held Thursday, September 17, 2020

People


Thomas Fenn

Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology
Thomas.Fenn@ou.edu

 


Rita Keresztesi
Associate Professor, 
Department of English
ritak@ou.edu
 


Natalie Letsa
Wick Cary Asst. Professor of Political Economy, Dept. of International & Area Studies
nwletsa@ou.edu

NameTitleEmail
Loretta Bass


Professor and Chair, Department of Sociology
Organizing Director, African Studies Institute
lbass@ou.edu
Meta G. Carstarphen

Professor, Gaylord College of Journalism & Communication
Affiliate Faculty, Clara Luper Department of
African & African-American Studies
mcarstarphen@ou.edu

Jeanette R. Davidson

 

Professor, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American Studiesjrdavidson@ou.edu
Zermarie Deacon
Associate Professor, Department of Human Relationszermarie@ou.edu
Kalenda EatonAssociate Professor, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American Studiesk.eaton1@ou.edu
Greg A. Graham
Associate Professor, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American Studiesgreggraham@ou.edu
Betty J. Harris 
Professor, Department of Anthropologybharris@ou.edu
John C. Harris
Associate Professor, Division of Regional and City Planning, Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecturejohncharris@ou.edu
Karlos K. Hill
Associate Professor and Department Chair, Clara Luper Department of African & African-American Studieskarlos.hill@ou.edu

Jane Irungu

Associate Provost, Inclusive Faculty Excellence
janeirungu@ou.edu
Daniel Mains

Associate Professor of Anthropology and African Studies, Honors Collegedcmains@ou.edu
James Olufowote


Associate Professor, Department of Communicationolu@ou.edu
Andreana Prichard
Associate Professor of African History, Honors College
Affiliate Faculty, Departments of History and International & Area Studies
aprichard@ou.edu
Bala Saho
Associate Professor, Department of Historysaho1@ou.edu
Michael J. Soreghan
Assistant Professor, Mewbourne College of Earth & Energy School of Geosciencesmsoreg@ou.edu
Elanie Steyn
Associate Professor and Journalism Area Head, Gaylord College of Journalism & Communicationelanie@ou.edu
Bret Wallach
Professor, Department of Geographybwallach@ou.edu
Janette Wallis
Lecturer, Environmental Studiesjanettewallis@ou.edu

Scholarships

The Ambassador Edward J. Perkins Scholarship
The Ambassador Edward J. Perkins Scholarship was created to assist University of Oklahoma students to pursue studies in Africa and other strategic areas. Students from overseas may also be supported to come to the University of Oklahoma for study (see details regarding admissions for international students).  This fund was established in the memory of the late Marjorie Schenfeld Stewart.

The Millie Schafer Sitzman Award
The Millie Schafer Sitzman Award was created to assist University of Oklahoma students to pursue studies in Africa.

The David L. Boren College of International Studies Board of Visitors Scholarship
The Board of Visitors Study Abroad Scholarship was created out of the initiative and generosity of advisors to, and constituents of, the David L. Boren College of International Studies at The University of Oklahoma. The scholarship is unique in that it emphasizes the value of study abroad experiences in destinations that are typically underrepresented.

Past Events