Skip Navigation


Skip Side Navigation

The University of Oklahoma recognizes the achievements of its talented and dedicated faculty through a variety of awards in the areas of teaching, research, and service. Nominations are solicited in mid-September, and recipients are announced at the faculty tribute ceremony in the spring.

Complete information, including nomination procedures and selection criteria, can be found throughout the site.

View the call for nominations memo for 2020-21 (PDF).

View the Summary of Awards (PDF).

Awards are given in the following categories:


Distinguished Professorships honor faculty members who have made exceptional contributions to the mission of a public research university through outstanding instruction, leadership, scholarship, and peer recognition.

Regents’ Awards recognize distinguished faculty who are selected for achieving unusual distinction in teaching and guidance of students, research, or service.

Professional and University Service and Public Outreach awards recognize faculty who exhibit extraordinary leadership or commitment to the service goals of their communities.

Research awards are given to faculty for their accomplishments in scholarship and creative endeavors.

Teaching awards honor excellence in instruction and the many ways that faculty are called upon to support their students in the classroom.

Community Engagement awards were established to recognize mutually beneficial university-community partnerships in research and teaching.

Length of Service awards are given to faculty to honor their hard work and dedication to the University. Faculty are eligible for these awards when they have served the University for 20 years and then again for 30 years.