Skip Navigation

Jensen Moore

Jensen Moore

Associate Professor

Jensen Moore

Office: Gaylord Hall 3520E

, University of Missouri
MA, University of Minnesota
B.S. Black Hills State University, S.D.

Areas of Specialization

  • Digital Media
  • Health Communication
  • Crisis Communication


  • Author of “Mourning using social media: The new frontier for death communication” In J. Lipschultz, K. Freberg, & R. Luttrell (Eds.), The Emerald handbook of computer-mediated communication and social media(117-140), Emerald Publishing Limited.
  • Co-author of “Social media mourning: Using grounded theory to explore how people grieve on social networking sites.” Omega: The Journal of Death and Dying79(3), 231-259.
  • Awarded Excellence in Education Award, Black Hills State University Alumni Association, 2021.
  • Awarded Owen Kulemeka Trailblazer Award in Diversity, Gaylord College, 2020.
  • Awarded OU Presidential Dream Course ($20,000 grant) award for course on Sport Promotion.
  • Chair of the PRSA, Educators Academy (2023).
  • Head of Mass Communication & Society Division of AEJMC (2015-2016).
  • Advisory Committee member of the International Public Relations Research Conference (IPRRC).
  • Member of Champions for PRSSA.

Jensen Moore, Ph.D. is an associate professor of public relations at the Gaylord College of Mass Communication where she teaches public relations principles, origins, and practice, crisis communication, social media strategies, public relations campaigns, sports promotion, strategic communication for nonprofits, and contemporary issues in public relations. 

Dr. Moore’s primary research interests are at the intersection of social media, crisis communication, and health communication. Specifically, her current research focuses on how individuals grieve using social networking sites. This line of research examines personal loss, grief following natural disasters (tornadoes, floods, hurricanes, etc.) and grief following man-made disasters (mass shootings, bombings, etc.). Additionally, she examines how individuals and organizations use social media for information sharing and information-seeking following man-made and natural disasters. To date, Moore has published more than 30 journal articles, book chapters, and refereed proceedings and presented more than 55 papers at research conferences.

Dr. Moore is the 2023 Chair of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSSA) Educators Academy. She also serves on the International Public Relations Research Conference Advisory Committee and is a member of Champions for PRSSA. She is the former Head of the Mass Communication and Society Division of the Association for Educators in Journalism and Mass Communication (2015-2016). 

Dr. Moore received her doctorate in Journalism (Missouri School of Journalism, 2007) and her master’s degree in Journalism and Mass Communication (University of Minnesota, 2003). Moore earned three bachelor's degrees from Black Hills State University in South Dakota (1999): business administration, marketing, and mass communication with dual emphases in journalism and public relations. She also received a minor in psychology.

Dr. Moore previously taught at Louisiana State University's Manship School of Mass Communication where she taught courses in strategic communication, served as Faculty Adviser for PRSSA at LSU, imPRint Communications, and the Manship Bateman Team (2012-2016).  Prior to LSU, Moore was a faculty member and the director of online undergraduate programs for the P.I. Reed School of Journalism at West Virginia University. She created two new minors (Health Promotion & Media Entrepreneurship), helped develop 10 new courses, re-developed 16 courses and supervised 40+ adjunct faculty teaching the 90+ online courses that ran each year (2009-2011). 

Dr. Moore's professional experience included full-time work for the Grand Rapids Hoops Professional Basketball Team (public relations director and media relations director) (1999-2000). In addition, Moore worked full-time (community relations director and advertising executive) for the St. Paul Saints Professional Baseball Team (2000-2021).