Skip Navigation


Skip Side Navigation

Institute for Environmental Genomics

Seminar Series

International Forum on Advanced Environmental Sciences and Technology (iFAST)

The International Forum on Advanced Environmental Sciences and Technology (iFAST) aims to provide an interactive forum to bring eminent scientists together to share their most recent advances in environmental sciences and technology with interested students, faculty, and other researchers. It also provides an opportunity to foster interdisciplinary networking among environmental researchers, engineers, and the general audience.

Invited speakers will consist of distinguished scientists from the international community to highlight grand challenges, frontier questions, and opportunities in environmental science and technology as well as potential solutions to on-going environmental challenges. The seminars will focus on fundamental research and will primarily pertain to topics such as climate change, environmental protection, theoretical ecology, community ecology, ecosystem ecology, evolutionary biology, microbial ecology, geosciences, and environmental genomics.

The iFAST seminars will be presented via Zoom on most Wednesdays.  Times will vary due to our international presenters and audience. All seminars are free and open to the public. Registration is required to receive a webinar link. 

Upcoming Speakers

SpeakerTitleDate Time

Donald E. Canfield


The Oxygen in Oxygen Minimum ZonesDec 1, 2021
8:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm China

Bo Barker Jørgense

Cryptic processes – a new concept in marine sediment biogeochemistryDec 8, 2021
8:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm China

Michael Wagner


Understanding nitrifying microbes, the gatekeepers of the nitrogen cycleDec 15, 20218:00 am CST
9:00 am EST
2:00 pm GMT
10:00 pm China

Upcoming Symposium

iFAST Environmental Biotechnology
- Perry McCarty Symposium
Dec 16 - 18, 202110:00 am - 12:30 pm EST
3:00 pm - 5:30 pm GMT
11:00 pm - (Dec.17) 1:30 am China
iFAST Microbial Ecology
- James Tiedje Symposium
Apr 4 - 6, 202210 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. EDT
2 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. GMT
10 p.m. – 12:30 a.m. China

Advisory Committee

Simon Levin (Princeton University); James Tiedje (Michigan State University); Paul Falkowski (Rutgers University); Guanzhou Qiu (Central South University); Bruce Rittmann (Arizona State University); Mary Power (University of California, Berkeley)

Organizing Committee

Jizhong Zhou (The University of Oklahoma, Chair)
Xueduan Liu (Central South University, Co-Chair)

Liyou Wu; Naijia Xiao; Joy Van Nostrand; Daliang Ning; Colin Bates; Carolyn Cornell (The University of Oklahoma)

Aijie Wang (Harbin Institute of Technology)

Fengping Wang (Shanghai JiaoTong University)

Wensheng Shu (South China Norman University)

Zhili He  (Sun Yat-sen University)

Lei Cheng (Zhejiang University)

Yunfeng Yang (Tsinghua University)

Ye Deng (RCEES, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Yili Liang; Huaqun Yin (Central South University)