Skip Navigation

Faculty

Skip Side Navigation

Faculty

The School of Geosciences currently has 19 full-time, tenured and tenure-track faculty, 1 research faculty, 7 adjunct faculty and instructors, coorperating researchers and affiliate faculty, and 8 emeritus faculty. Our faculty are assisted by 4 research staff and 4 administrative staff. 

Gerilyn S. Soreghan

Gerilyn S. Soreghan

Director, School of Geosciences
and Eberly Chair

David L. Boren Professor 

Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, and Paleoclimatology
lsoreg@ou.edu

Younane N. Abousleiman

Younane N. Abousleiman

Professor and Larry W. Brummett / ONEOK Chair
Director, integrated PoroMechanics Institute (iPMI)


Reservoir Characterization and Mechanics of Porous Media
yabousle@ou.edu
 
  

Behm

Heather Bedle

Assistant Professor of Geosciences

Applied Petroleum Geophysics, Seismic Interpretation   
hbedle@ou.edu

Carpenter

Brett M. Carpenter

Assistant Professor of Geosciences
  

Structural Geology
brett.carpenter@ou.edu

Xiaowei

Xiaowei Chen

Lissa and Cy Wagner Professor
Associate Professor of Geosciences


Seismology and Earthquake Processes
xiaowei.chen@ou.edu

Xiaowei

Kato Dee

Assistant Professor of Geosciences

Hydrogeology and aqueous geochemistry
kdee@ou.edu

dulin

Shannon Dulin

Assistant Professor of Geosciences

Paleomagnetism, Sedimentary Geology, Geologic Field Methods
sdulin@ou.edu

R. Douglas Elmore

R. Douglas Elmore

Edward L. McCollough Chair

Sedimentology, Paleomagnetism of Sedimentary Rocks, and Diagenesis
delmore@ou.edu

Andrew S. Elwood Madden

Andrew S. Elwood Madden

Frank and Henrietta Schultz Chair
Director, Samuel Roberts Noble Microscopy Laboratory

Geochemistry; environmental and clay mineralogy
amadden@ou.edu

Megan E. Elwood Madden

Megan E. Elwood Madden

Robert & Doris Klabzuba Chair
Stubbeman-Drace Presidential Professor of Geosciences
Director, Center for Faculty Excellence.

Earth and Planetary Geochemistry
melwood@ou.edu

Michael H. Engel

Michael H. Engel

Clyde Becker Chair

Organic / Stable Isotope Geochemistry
ab1635@ou.edu

Liu

Junle Jiang

Assistant Professor of Geosciences
  


Seismology, Geodesy, Geodynamics, and Geomechanics
jiang@ou.edu

Liu

Xiaolei Liu

Assistant Professor of Organic Geochemistry
  

Geobiology, Lipid Biomarkers, Origins of Life
xlliu@ou.edu

Richard Lupia

Richard Lupia

Norman R. Gelphman Professor
Associate Professor of Geosciences
Associate Director and Head Curator, Sam Noble Museum


Paleobotany, Palynology, and Paleoecology
rlupia@ou.edu

Kurt J. Marfurt

Kurt J. Marfurt

Research Professor

Seismic Processing, Seismic Interpretation, and Reservoir Characterization
kmarfurt@ou.edu

John D. Pigott

John D. Pigott

Associate Professor of Geosciences

Carbonate Geology & Geophysics, Basin Analysis, Seismic Stratigraphy, Carbon Cycles
jpigott@ou.edu

Matthew J. Pranter

Matthew J. Pranter

Victor E. Monnett Chair in Energy Resources
Professor of Geosciences
Director, Institute for Reservoir Characterization and

Reservoir Characterization and Modeling Laboratory

Reservoir Characterization, Reservoir Modeling, Sedimentary and Petroleum Geology, Unconventional Reservoirs
matthew.pranter@ou.edu

Michael J. Soreghan

Michael J. Soreghan

James Roy Maxey Professor
Associate Professor of Geosciences


Sedimentary and Environmental Geology
msoreg@ou.edu

Barry L. Weaver

Barry L. Weaver

Associate Professor of Geosciences

Trace Element Geochemistry of Igneous and Metamorphic Rocks
bweaver@ou.edu

Steve Westrop

Steve Westrop

Willard L. Miller Professor
Curator of Invertebrate Paleontology,
Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History


Invertebrate Paleontology
swestrop@ou.edu

Affiliate & Adjunct Faculty, and Cooperating Researchers

Behm

Michael Behm
Affiliate Faculty

michael.behm@ou.edu

Behm

Thomas Fenn
Affiliate Faculty

thomas.fenn@ou.edu



Jake Walter
Affilitate Faculty
Geophysicist III, Oklahoma Geological Survey

Seismology

jwalter@ou.edu

G.B. Morgan, VI

Gail Holloway
Adjunct Instructor
Undergraduate Recruiter


gholloway@ou.edu

 
 
 

kyle murray

Kyle E. Murray
Cooperating Researcher
Hydrogeologist IV, Oklahoma Geological Survey

Water and Energy Resources, Groundwater

kyle.murray@ou.edu 


Fnu "Ming" Suriamin
Adjunct Professor
Geologist IV, Oklahoma Geological Survey Petroleum Geology and Petrophysics 

Fnu.suriamin-1@ou.edu


Molly Yunker
Cooperating Researcher and Outreach Specialist 
Education and Outreach Coordinator, Oklahoma Geological Survey

yunker@ou.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Judson L. Ahern

Judson L. Ahern
Professor Emeritus

Geomechanics, Gravity and Magnetics, and Environmental Geophysics
jahern@ou.edu

M. Charles Gilbert

M. Charles Gilbert
Professor Emeritus

Igneous and Metamorphic Rock Systems
mcgilbert@ou.edu

Charles W. Harper, Jr.

Charles W. Harper, Jr.
Professor Emeritus

Paleontology
charper@gcn.ou.edu

G. Randy Keller

G. Randy Keller
Professor Emeritus

Geophysics, Structure and Evolution of the Lithosphere from basins to the upper mantle, and Geoinformatics
grkeller@ou.edu

David London

David London
Professor Emeritus

Experimental Geochemistry, Mineralogy, Igneous and
Metamorphic Petrology, and Geology of Metals
dlondon@ou.edu

Shankar Mitra

Shankar Mitra

Professor Emeritus

Structural Geology, Petroleum Geology, and Fractured and Faulted Reservoirs
smitra@ou.edu

R. Paul Philp

R. Paul Philp
Professor Emeritus

Petroleum and Environmental Geochemistry
pphilp@ou.edu

Ze'ev Reches

Ze'ev Reches
Professor Emeritus

Structural Geology, Earthquakes, and Rock Mechanics
reches@ou.edu