Skip Navigation

Oklahoma COBRE in Structural Biology

3D Rendering of a protein
Skip Side Navigation

Oklahoma COBRE in Structural Biology


Welcome to the website of the Oklahoma Center of Biomedical Research Excellence in Structural Biology (OCSB). This NIH-funded center supports research groups on the OU-Norman and OUHSC campuses that utilize a structural approach to study important biological macromolecules, in particular, proteins or nucleic acids that are promising targets for rational drug design.

Structural biology lies at the intersection of many different areas of biological sciences and thus has the potential of impacting numerous biomedically important fields. The OCSB was established in 2012 with an NIH COBRE Phase I award (1P20GM103640-01) and a Phase II renewal grant (2P20GM103640-06) was awarded 2017. 

In May 2022, the OCSB was awarded the NIH COBRE Phase 3 grant (P30GM145423) which will continue to provide resources for investigators at OU, OUHSC, and other institutions throughout the State of Oklahoma for structure-based biomedical studies as well as guide the OCSB-supported core facilities to a sustainable future.

View the OCSB COBRE's publications on

Job Opening

The Laboratory of Biomolecular Structure and Function (LBSF) in Oklahoma City, which is part of the Biomolecular Structure Core of the COBRE, has a job opening for a Staff Scientist position. The candidate should be an experienced crystallographer. More position and application information can be found here.

New Equipment

The Protein Production and Characterization Core (PPCC) facility in Norman has a few new instruments available to users: a microplate reader, a sonicator, and an automated cell counter. More information about each can be found on the PPCC instrument website.

Events and Dates

COBRE Seminar

Dr. Clarissa Durie, Assistant Professor of Biochemistry at Missouri University, will present a seminar on Friday, November 10, 2023 at 9:00 am in SLSRC 3410/3430 (Astellas Room). Title: TBA

Structural Biology Meetings

The ACS Southwest Regional Meeting (SWRM) takes place November 15-18, 2023 in Oklahoma City. The Biological Track features a session (oral and poster) “Biochemistry: Macromolecular Structure and Function”. More information can be found here: ACS-SWRM 

COBRE Group Meetings Fall 2023: via ZOOM

Tuesday, October 17, 2023, 2:20 pm: Presenters are A. Burgett and Y. Shao

Tuesday, November 14, 2023, 2:20 pm: Presenter is W.-Q. Ding

EAC Meeting

The next EAC meeting is scheduled for January 11-12, 2024.

Free workshop: Phenix Software for Macromolecular Structure Determination

Monday-Tuesday, March 18-19, 2024, in person
Presented by Phenix Developers and sponsored by Oklahoma COBRE in Structural Biology
Location: University of Oklahoma, Stephenson Life Sciences Research Center
More information can be found here.
Registration coming in January 2024.