Skip Navigation

Dr. LaMont Cavanagh Named New Family & Community Medicine Chair

Skip Side Navigation

Dr. LaMont Cavanagh Named New Family & Community Medicine Chair

LaMont Cavanagh, M.D. has been named Chair of the Department of Family & Community Medicine within the OU-TU School of Community Medicine and OU Physicians-Tulsa.  He is board-certified in Family Medicine and Sports Medicine and has garnered national attention as an expert in both fields.

Dr. Cavanagh has a long history with the University of Oklahoma, earning his undergraduate and medical degrees and completing his Family Medicine Residency and Sports Medicine Fellowship at OU College of Medicine in Tulsa.  He joined the Family & Community Medicine department as a faculty member in 2001 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2010.  Most recently he served as Director of the Center for Exercise and Sports Medicine, Co-Director of the Center for Concussions, and Medical Director for Health At Work, a corporate health and wellness program.

In his new role, Dr. Cavanagh will lead and manage the department’s clinical service, teaching, research, community outreach, and strategic planning.  He will oversee the department’s practice and productivity, to ensure high-quality, cost-effective medical care.  Dr. Cavanagh will also maintain and enhance the excellence in student and resident educational programs as well as serve as a mentor for faculty members.

Dr. Cavanagh will report directly to the Dean of the OU-TU School of Community Medicine, Dr. James Herman.  “After a nationwide search, we are thrilled to select Dr. Cavanagh as our top candidate,” said Herman.  “His experience, reputation, and commitment to community medicine is a perfect fit.” 

The OU-TU School of Community Medicine, a 4-year medical school, is a joint effort between the University of Oklahoma and the University of Tulsa.  It is among the nation’s leaders in the growing field of community medicine, which focuses on population-based health outcomes and the social determinants of health.

OU Physicians, our multi-specialty group practice, includes more than 300 physicians, 110 medical students and 72 physician assistant students.  Faculty physicians and residents perform approximately 250,000 patient visits per year and provide clinical care at four OU Physicians clinics, as well as St. John Medical Center, Hillcrest Medical Center, Saint Francis Medical Center, Laureate Psychiatric Clinic and Hospital, and Jane Phillips Medical Center in Bartlesville. 

For more information about the OU-TU School of Community Medicine or OU Physicians-Tulsa, call 918-660-3098 or visit