Skip Navigation
accreditation website wordmarkOU homepageAccreditation


Most Recent Site Visit

The University of Oklahoma underwent a comprehensive evaluation visit March 5-7, 2012, by a team representing the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

The University of Oklahoma has been accredited by the Commission since 1913, the first year that the Commission started accrediting institutions of higher learning. Its accreditation is at the Doctoral Degree level and includes degree sites throughout the state and various other locations throughout the world.

Higher Learning Commission

The Higher Learning Commission is one of six accrediting agencies in the United States that provide institutional accreditation on a regional basis. Institutional accreditation evaluates an entire institution and accredits it as a whole. Other agencies provide accreditation for specific programs. Accreditation is voluntary. The Commission accredits approximately 950 institutions of higher education in a nineteen-state region. The Commission is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Higher Learning Commission Website

2013 Formal Notification of Reaffirmation of Accreditation

2013 HLC Evaluation Report


For inquiries about the self-study process, contact OU's Accreditation Liason Officer for HLC, Susannah Livingood, Associate Provost and Director of Institutional Research & Reporting: