Skip Navigation

Faculty

College of Arts and Sciences, Department of English, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

OU Department of English Faculty

Alphabetically   |   By Research Interests

David Anderson

David Anderson

Associate Professor

Interests: Renissance drama and poetry; literature and religion

Email: dkanderson@ou.edu


David Anderson's Profile

Rilla Askew

Rilla Askew

Assistant Professor

Interests: Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Oklahoma History

Email: raskew@ou.edu




Rilla Askew's Profile

Amit R. Baishya

Amrit Baishya

Assistant Professor

Interests: Postcolonial literature; cultural studies; film.

arbaishya1@ou.edu


Amit R. Baishya's Profile

Joyce Coleman

Joyce Coleman

Rudolph C. Bambas Professor of Medieval English Literature & Culture 
Director, University of Oklahoma Center for Medieval & Renaissance Studies 

Interests: Medieval literary reception, performance, and patronage; 
"the iconography of the book" in medieval manuscripts. 

joyce.coleman@ou.edu 

Joyce Coleman's Profile

Robert Con Davis-Undiano

RCDavis

Professor of English and Neustadt Professor 
Executive Director of World Literature Today

Interests: American studies; Chicano studies; cultural studies; literary and cultural theory. 

rcdavis@ou.edu
 

Robert Con Davis-Undiano's Profile

Bill Endres

Bill Endres

Assistant Professor 

Interests: Digital Humanities, medieval manuscripts, and visual rhetoric. 

bill.endres@ou.edu
 

Bill Endres' Profile

Daniela Garofalo

Daniela Garofalo

Professor 
Chair, English Department 

Interests: British Romanticism; Victorian literature; Gender Studies; Lacanian theory.  

dg@ou.edu
 

Daniela Garofalo's Profile

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers

Honoree Jeffers

Professor

Interests: Poetry Writing, Fiction Writing, Creative Nonfiction Writing, Writing for Creative Publication, Early African American Literature, Blues Poetics, and Twentieth- and Twenty-First Century African American Literature.

hfjeffers@ou.edu

Honorée Fanonne Jeffers' Profile

Catherine A. John

Catherine John

Associate Professor 

Interests: African Diaspora Literature and Culture with an emphasis on African American and Afro-Caribbean crossings; Francophone Caribbean Literature; Hip Hop Pedagogy; Black Independent Cinema; Blackness and Gender.


cjohn@ou.edu

Catherine A. John's Profile

Susan Kates

Susan Kates

Professor

Interests: History of rhetoric; material rhetorics; women's rhetorics; creative writing, particularly creative nonfiction; Oklahoma cultural studies.  

skates@ou.edu
 

Susan Kates' Profile

Rita Keresztesi

Rita Keresztesi

Associate Professor

Interests: African Diaspora Literary and Cultural Studies: the Harlem Renaissance, Black Arts/Black Power, Anglophone Caribbean Literatures and Music; Postcolonial African Cinema (Francophone West Africa, Nollywood, and Bongo Cinema). 

ritak@ou.edu

Rita Keresztesi's Profile

William C. Kurlinkus

William Kurlinkus

Assistant Professor 
Director of Technical Writing

Interests: New media; rhetoric; technical communication; design.  

wkurlinkus@ou.edu
 

William C. Kurlinkus' Profile

William Henry McDonald

William McDonald

Associate Professor

Interests: Nineteenth-century American literature; twentieth-century American literature; literary theory 

hmcdonald@ou.edu

William Henry McDonald's Profile

Roxanne Mountford

Roxanne Mountford

Professor 
Director, Rhetoric and Writing Studies
Director, First-Year Composition

Interests: Rhetorical history, theory, and criticism; writing; women’s rhetoric; African American rhetoric; rhetorical education; religious rhetoric; environmental rhetoric; institutional history.  

mountford@ou.edu

Roxanne Mountford's Profile

Joshua B. Nelson

Joshua Nelson

Associate Professor 

Interests: American Indian and Indigenous literature, film, and media; Cherokee culture; identity theory; agency; anarchism; pragmatism.  

joshuabnelson@ou.edu
 

Joshua B. Nelson's Profile

Daniel Joseph Ransom

Daniel Ransom

Professor 
Director, Variorum Chaucer Project 

Interests: Medieval literature; the history of English; Chaucer.  

djransom@ou.edu

Daniel Joseph Ransom's Profile

Gabriela Raquel Rios

Gabi Rios

Assistant Professor 

Interests: rhetoric; writing studies; multimodal composition; literacy; Indigenous studies; Chicanx & Latinx studies; materiality; decolonial and postcolonial theories 

grios@ou.edu

Gabriela Raquel Rios' Profile

 

Ronald Schleifer

Professor Ron Schleifer gives talk at the Forbidden City in Beijing (thumbnail image)

George Lynn Cross Research Professor
Adjunct Professor in Medicine

Interests: Twentieth-century literature; literature and medicine; critical theory; semiotics

schleifer@ou.edu

Ronald Schleifer's Profile

Justin A. Sider

Dr. Justin Sider headshot thumbnail

Assistant Professor

Interests: Nineteenth-century literature (especially poetry and non-fiction), aestheticism and decadence, Pre-Raphaelite art and poetry, twentieth-century poetry, aesthetic theory, genre theory.

justin.sider@ou.edu

Justin A. Sider's Profile

Jonathan Stalling

Jonathan Stalling

Professor

Interests: Modern to Contemporary American Poetry; Comparative Chinese-Western Poetics,  Literary and Cultural Theory, Translation Studies, Creative Writing (poetry), and EFL. 

stalling@ou.edu

Jonathan Stalling's Profile

Sandra L. Tarabochia

Sandra Tarabochia

Assistant Professor 

Interests: Writing program administration; writing pedagogy; writing across the curriculum/writing in the disciplines; cross-curricular literacy learning; cross-disciplinary collaboration.  

sltarabochia@ou.edu

Sandra L. Tarabochia's Profile

Kathleen E. Welch

Kathleen E. Welch

Presidential Professor 

Interests: Writing and literacy; classical rhetorical theory; twentieth- 
century rhetoric and composition theory; current technology and literacy 
studies; feminist theory; historicized rhetoric.  

kwelch@ou.edu
 

Kathleen E. Welch's Profile

Kimberly G. Wieser

Kimberly G. Wieser

Associate Professor 

Interests: American Indian critical theories, literatures, and rhetorics; gender studies. 

kroppolo@ou.edu

Kimberly G. Wieser's Profile

James Zeigler

James Zeigler

Associate Professor 

Interests: Twentieth-century American literature; literary theory; rhetoric.  

jzeigler@ou.edu


James Zeigler's Profile

Emeritus Faculty

Eve Tavor Bannet

Professor Emeritus Eve Bannet

Professor Emeritus

Interests: The long eighteenth century; trans-Atlantic studies; British and American literature; women; letters; history of reading; secret writing

etbannet@ou.edu
 

Eve Tavor Bannet's Profile

Dan Cottom

Professor Emeritus

Interests: Nineteenth-century English literature; cultural studies; literary and cultural theory.  

dacottom@ou.edu

Daniel Cottom's Profile

Vincent B. Leitch

Professor Emeritus Vincent Leitch

Professor Emeritus

Interests: Literary criticism and theory; cultural studies; poetry and poetics. 

vbleitch@ou.edu
 

Vincent B. Leitch's Profile

Alan Velie

Professor Emeritus Alan Velie

Professor Emeritus

Interests: Shakespeare; American Indian literature; poetry and poetics; the Bible as literature.  

alanvelie@ou.edu
 

Aan Velie's Profile

Additional Emeritus Faculty

Geary Hobson

David Mair

Dan Cottom

Joanna Rapf

Lawrence Frank

Catherine Hobbs

James Yoch