Skip Navigation
MPGE HeaderOU homepageMewbourne School of Petroleum & Geological Engineering homepage

Faculty

Chandra S. Rai

Dr. Chandra S. Rai

Director & Eberly Family Chair

E-mail:    crai@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1264
Phone:    405-325-6866

Research Interests: Rock and mineral physics, Reservoir characterization, Petrophysics

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Younane Abousleiman

Dr. Younane Abousleiman

Larry W. Brummett/ONEOK Chair in Poromechanics

E-mail:    yabousle@ou.edu
Office:    SEC P119C
Phone:    405-325-2900

Research Interests: Poroelastic media, Reservoir compaction, Inclined boreholes

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Ramadan Ahmed

Dr. Ramadan Ahmed

Associate Professor & Mewbourne Chair in Petroleum Engineering #2

E-mail:    r.ahmed@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1180
Phone:    405-325-0745

Research Interests: Cuttings/solids transport, Drilling fluid rheology and wellbore hydraulics, Underbalanced drilling and MPD, Well control

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Deepak Devegowda

Dr. Deepak Devegowda

Associate Professor, Graduate Liaison & Mewbourne Chair in Petroleum Engineering #1

E-mail:    deepak.devegowda@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1214
Phone:    405-325-3081

Research Interests: Reservoir characterization & uncertainty assessment, Geostatistics, Unconventional oil & gas reservoir engineering

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Mashhad Fahes

Dr. Fahes

Assistant Professor

E-mail:    mashhad.fahes@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1338
Phone:    405-325-6471

Research Interests:

 

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Ahmad Ghassemi

Dr. Ahmed Ghassemi

McCasland Chair Professor

E-mail:    ahmad.ghassemi@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1314
Phone:    405-325-4347

Research Interests: Geomechanics applied to petroleum and geothermal reservoir development, Modeling of hydraulic fracturing and faulting, Reactive fluid flow in fractures, and constitutive modeling for chemically-active rocks

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Ahmad Jamili

Dr. Ahmad Jamili

Assistant Professor

E-mail:    ahmad.jamili@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1326
Phone:    405-325-1585

Research Interests: CO2–EOR, Phase behavior, Compositional modeling, Naturally fractured reservoirs

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Hamidreza Karami

Karami

Assistant Professor

E-mail:    karami@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1112
Phone:    405-325-1120

Research Interests: Production engineering, Multiphase flow, Artificial lift, Flow assurance

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Siddharth Misra

Misra

Assistant Professor

E-mail:    misra@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1322
Phone:    405-325-6787

Pressure/Rate Transient Analysis, Inverse Problems, Data-Driven Predictive Models, Petrophysics, Electromagnetic Sensing

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Rouzbeh Ghanbarnezhad Moghanloo

Dr. Rouzbeh Moghanloo

Assistant Professor

E-mail:    rouzbeh.gm@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1176
Phone:    405-325-5804

Research Interests: Modeling fluid flow through nano-scale pores in shale strata, Enhanced oil recovery, Fractional flow theory, Multiphase flow in heterogeneous porous media

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Zulfiquar Reza

Reza

Associate Professor

E-mail:    zulfiquar.reza@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1114
Phone:    405-325-6778

Research interests: Advanced reservoir simulation and simulator development, Multi-physics, multi-scale coupled systems modeling, Accelerated computing, Data assimilation, Integrated reservoir modeling and management under uncertainty

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Saeed Salehi

Salehi

Assistant Professor

E-mail:    salehi@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1110
Phone:    405-325-6829

Research interests: Well Construction, Integrity and Well Control; Wellbore Geomechanics, Human Factors, Drilling Optimization, Plugging, Abandonment and Decommissioning; and Deepwater Drilling and Technologies

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Suresh Sharma

Dr. Suresh Sharma

Director of Natural Gas Engineering & Management Programs

E-mail:    ssharma@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1248
Phone:    405-325-5928

Research Interests: Natural gas processing, Field production technology, Oil/gas project management

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Bor-Jier (Ben) Shiau

Dr. Ben Shiau

Associate Professor & Mewbourne Chair in Petroluem Engineering #5

E-mail:    bshiau@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1346
Phone:    405-325-6817

Research Interests: Enhanced oil recovery, Chemical flooding, Surfactant and colloid science for petroleum production

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Carl Sondergeld

Dr. Carl Sondergeld

Curtis Mewbourne Chair Professor

E-mail:    csondergeld@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1230
Phone:    405-325-6870

Research Interests: Rock mechanics, Acoustic emissions, Rock physics

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Catalin Teodoriu

Teodoriu Petroleum Engineering Professor of Drilling

Associate Professor & Drilling Simulation Center Director

E-mail:    cteodoriu@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1134
Phone:    405-325-6872

Research Interests: 

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Xingru Wu

Dr. Xingru Wu

Associate Professor

E-mail:    xingru.wu@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1362
Phone:    405-325-1207

Research Interests: Physics of multiphase flow in permeable media, Enhanced hydrocarbon recovery, Reservoir characterization, Geothermal recovery

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Musharraf Zaman

Dr. Musharraf Zaman

David Ross Boyd Chair & Aaron Alexander Chair Professor

E-mail:    zaman@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1366
Phone:    405-325-2626

Research Interests: Geotechnical engineering; Soil dynamics, rock mechanics, soil structure interaction, flow through porous media

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Adjunct Faculty

Adnan Al-Ibadi

Dr. Adnan Al-Ibadi

Lecturer 

E-mail:   adnan.alibadi@ou.edu       
Office:    SEC 1334
Phone:    405-325-4731

Research Interests: Near-wellbore formation treatment by gel particles, Near-wellbore water shutoff treatment by silica flour particle-gel system, and Enhanced oil recovery by CO2 gas injection, N2 gas injection and seperator gas injection

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Ali Tinni

No Photo

Adjunct Instructor

E-mail:   alitinni@ou.edu      
Office:    SEC S216
Phone:    405-325-2921

Jeffrey G. Callard

Dr. Jeffrey Callard

Associate Professor

E-mail:    callard@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1350
Phone:    405-325-6781

Research Interests: Reservoir Characterization and Production Analysis 

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Keith Thomas

Keith Thomas, JD

Adjunct Professor, Oil & Gas Law

E-mail:    keith.t.thomas-1@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1210
Phone:    405-325-2921

Zhen Zhu

Zhen Zhu

Adjunct Professor, Natural Gas Finance

E-mail:    zhen.zhu-1@ou.edu
Office:    SEC 1210
Phone:    405-325-2921

Emeritus Faculty

Faruk Civan

Dr. Faruk Civan

Emeritus Professor

E-mail:   fcivan@ou.edu

Research Interests: Unconventional gas, condensate, and oil reservoirs analyses and simulation; Flow assurance and mitigation in reservoirs, wells, and pipelines; Oil and gas processing, transportation, and storage

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Roy Knapp

Dr. Roy Knapp

Emeritus Professor

E-mail:    knapp@ou.edu

Research Interests: Microbial enhanced oil recovery, Reservoir simulation & engineering

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Jean-Claude Roegiers

Dr. JC Roegiers

Emeritus Professor

E-mail:    jroegiers@ou.edu

Research Interests: Borehole stability, Pore collapse mechanism, Fracture toughness of rocks

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Subhash Shah

Dr. Subhash Shah

Emeritus Professor

E-mail:    subhash@ou.edu

 

Research Interests: Drilling and well completions, Stimulation, Coiled tubing applications, Non-Newtonian fluids characterization

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)

Djebbar Tiab

Taib

Emeritus Professor

E-mail:    dtiab@ou.edu

Research Interests: Well test analysis, Petrophysics, and Reservoir Characterization

View Bio | Download CV (PDF)