Skip Navigation


Skip Carousel Content
Skip Side Navigation

Dr. Lynn Soreghan Named Fulbright U.S. Scholar Fellow

Gerilyn Soreghan, Ph.D. has been selected to receive a Fulbright U.S. Scholar fellowship to Serbia for the 2023-2024 academic year. The fellowship is awarded by the U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board in recognition of Soreghan’s academic merit and leadership potential.

Fulbright Scholar Awards are prestigious and competitive fellowships that provide unique opportunities for scholars to teach and conduct research abroad. Fulbright scholars also play a critical role in U.S. public diplomacy, establishing long-term relationships between people and nations. Read more.

A Message from the Director

Welcome to the University of Oklahoma’s School of Geosciences!

We live in interesting times, as Planet Earth faces the twin challenges of sustaining a livable environment and providing resources to fuel humanity. Geoscientists play critical roles in helping society navigate current challenges and build a sustainable future. At the School of Geosciences, we are addressing society’s needs by growing beyond our traditional strengths in energy geosciences to offer outstanding programs in the study of Earth’s Critical Zone, where rock, water, atmosphere, biology, and humans meet and shape the surface of our planet, including Paleobiology, Paleoclimate, and Environmental Geosciences. We employ Structure and Tectonics, Petrology, Geochemistry, and Geophysics to better understand Earth and other planets, while also seeking out more sustainable energy solutions.

OU Geosciences ranks in the top ten percent of geology programs in the U.S.— a ranking now buoyed further by several recent faculty hires. Our program’s strengths rest on a vibrant faculty fully invested in providing superior education and mentorship, a departmental culture centered on student success, a dedication to career development and community service, and a commitment to building an inclusive and supportive community of geoscientists.

All of our students— both undergraduate and graduate— benefit from generous scholarships, extensive field trip experiences, and the attention and guidance of an energetic cohort of faculty who care about your growth as both a scientist and a human.

Our program is large enough to offer top facilities, support, and resources, but small enough to ensure that students reap individualized attention. As one example, every undergraduate can engage with faculty in mentored research and field experiences. We view our students as our essential gifts to society, and seek to produce well-rounded geoscientists and informed citizens who both understand and are enthusiastic to address the challenges facing humanity on our current and future Earth.

Join us as we explore the history and trajectory of our only home, and cultivate future Geoscientists.

Finding Trilobites on Anticosti Island

School of Geosciences assistant professors and Assistant Curators of Invertebrate Paleontology Sam Noble Museum Lena Cole, Ph.D., and David Wright, Ph.D., contributed to a field study to better understand how environmental changes influenced a mass extinction event that occurred nearly 450 million years ago.

Drs. Cole and Wright, as well as their collaborators, have been working at this remote field site in Canada since 2018 to create a detailed record of the diversity of past life and changing environmental conditions over the mass extinction event. Their field research focuses on the biodiversity and evolution of marine animals in the fossil record to investigate how species respond to global change and the long-term impact of mass extinction events in the history of life.