Skip Navigation

Our People

Skip Side Navigation

Vascular Faculty

Meet our Vascular Surgery faculty at the OU-TU School of Community Medicine in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Our mission is to improve vascular care in the state of Oklahoma. If this interests you, we encourage you to get to know our team better. 

Vascular Surgery Faculty

Peter Nelson, MD, MS

Dr. Nelson is the Mary Louise Todd Chair for Cardiovascular Research, and Professor and Section Chief of Vascular Surgery in the Department of Surgery. He obtained his medical degree and completed General Surgery residency at the University of Massachusetts. He then completed research training in the Harvard-Longwood Vascular Surgery Research Fellowship and a Vascular Surgery fellowship at Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine. He is board certified in Vascular Surgery.

Kelly Kempe, MD 

Dr. Kempe the Vascular Surgery program director and an Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery, Section of Vascular Surgery. She is board certified in Vascular Surgery after completing her fellowship at Wake Forest School of Medicine in North Carolina. Her expertise encompasses the entire spectrum of open and endovascular vascular disease, and she focuses on the individual values of each patient in order to optimize their best care plan. She is actively doing research in peripheral artery disease, carotid artery disease, and hemodialysis access, and she provides innovative techniques of minimally invasive therapy in these areas. 

Kimberly Zamor, MD

Dr. Zamor is Associate Program Director of Vascular Surgery and is board certified in Vascular Surgery. She is a Boston University trained general surgeon and completed her fellowship at Dartmouth. Her research interests include health services and surgical education. 

 Todd Hasenstein, DPM

Dr. Hasenstein completed his residency at Temple University Hospital. He received his DPM from Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine, and is certified by the American Board of Podiatric Surgery

Guest Faculty

William Jennings, MD

Dr. Jennings is a guest faculty member within the Vascular Surgery department. He regularly participates in academic conferences and is a vascular access expert. He obtained his medical degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and completed his surgery residency at the University of Oklahoma Tulsa College of Medicine.

Research Faculty and Staff

Ahlam Alarbi, PhD
Vascular Research Postdoctoral Fellow

Dr. Alarbi is a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Surgery at the University of Oklahoma, School of Community Medicine, Tulsa. She received a Bachelor degree in Pharmaceutical Sciences from Al-Fatah University, Tripoli, Libya. She completed her Master’s degree in Biochemistry and PhD in Chemistry at the University of Tulsa. Dr. Alarbi is an expert in biomarker and cellular analysis and conducts the genomic and proteomic analyses at the Department of Surgery. 

Carol Cox, PhD
Surgical Research Coordinator

Dr. Cox  completed postdoctoral training in molecular genetics at TU, and was recipient of a Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award postdoctoral fellowship in the NIAID Immunology Training Program at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center in Oklahoma City.. Dr. Cox joined the OU-Tulsa Department of Surgery as Research Coordinator in 2017.

Julie Marino, PhD
Instructor, Department of Surgery

Dr. Marino is an instructor in the Department of Surgery at the University of Oklahoma, School of Community Medicine, Tulsa.  She completed her PhD in Immunology at the University of Tulsa. She completed post-doctoral training in the Department of Surgery at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine in Tulsa.  She is an expert in gene expression analysis and directs the genomics research efforts at the Integrative Immunology Center.

Kent Teague, PhD
Director, OU-Tulsa Integrative Immunology Center

Dr. Teague serves as the Assistant Vice President for Research and leads the research efforts at OU-Tulsa. He specializes in studying the effects of psychosocial stress and chronic inflammation on the immune system and the downstream effects on health. Dr. Teague is also the Associate Dean for Research for the OU-TU School of Community Medicine and holds the GKFF Chair in Community Medicine Research. In addition to his roles in research, Dr. Teague is the associate course director for the Immunology, Microbiology, and Integument course for the medical students and co-directs the immunology course for the PA students.

Vascular Surgery Fellows

Steven Vang, DO - Senior Vascular Fellow; PGY-7

Medical School: A.T. Still University – School of Osteopathic Medicine Arizona

Residency: Ascension Macomb-Oakland Hospital

Hannah Jayroe, DO - Junior Vascular Fellow; PGY-6

Medical School: University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth

Residency: McLaren General Surgery Consortium

Nick Welle, DO - Junior Vascular Fellow; PGY-6

Medical School: Kansas City University

Residency: McLaren of Greater Lansing

Fellowship Alumni

Viraj Pandit, MD 

Dr. Pandit graduated medical school from Maharashtra University of Health Science in 2011. He graduated from the general surgery residency program the University of Arizona in June of 2019. Dr. Pandit completed his fellowship training in June 2021 and currently practices at the VA Central California Health System in Fresno, California. 

Vernon Horst, MD

Dr. Horst received his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University in 2012. He completed his general surgery residency at Brookwood Baptist Health System in Birmingham, AL, in 2017. He subsequently completed a surgical critical care fellowship at Memorial Health University Medical Center in Savannah, GA, in 2018. Dr. Horst completed the fellowship training in June 2020.

Ranan Mendelseberg, MD

Dr. Mendelsberg graduated from the surgery residency program LAC USC Medical Center in June of 2017. He received his medical degree from University of Illinois College of Medicine in 2011. He completed the fellowship program in June 2019.     

Dhiren Patel, MD

Dr. Patel graduated from the general surgery residency program at New York Methodist Hospital in June of 2015.  He received his medical degree from B.J Medical College in India in 2007. He completed his vascular fellowship in 2018.

Ritoban Sen, MD

Dr. Sen graduated from the general surgery residency program at St. Louis University Hospital in June of 2014.  He received his medical degree from the BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences in Nepal in 2008.

Shane Yamane, MD 

Dr. Yamane completed a general surgery residency at the University of Hawaii in 2003 and a cardiothoracic surgery residency at Wayne State University/Detroit Medical Center in 2005.  Prior to joining the vascular surgery fellowship program in Tulsa in July 2013, Dr. Yamane was in private practice in cardiothoracic surgery in Hawaii.  He started the Thoracic Surgical Robotics Program at Queen's Medical Center in Honolulu, where he was a member of the Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement team.  He performed the first robotic assisted thymectomy in Hawaii in 2010 and the first robotic assisted lobectomy in 2011.

Alex Mallios, MD  

Dr. Mallios completed his training in general, cardio-thoracic, and vascular surgery in Thessaloniki - Greece, London - UK, and Paris - France.  Board certified in vascular surgery in Europe, he decided to increase his experience with a fellowship in the United States and joined the department in December 2012.  Dr Mallios has several publications and international meeting presentations and is particularly interested in new endovascular techniques and innovations in vascular surgery.