OMS Logo Oklahoma Microscopy Society (OMS) OMS Logo

The Oklahoma Microscopy Society is a local affiliate society of the Microscopy Society of America (MSA), the Microbeam Analysis Society (MAS) and the Oklahoma Academy of Science (OAS). The Society was founded as the Oklahoma Society for Electron Microscopy (Ok-SEM) in September 1977, becoming the 18th local affiliated society of MSA (then EMSA) and the 11th section of OAS. There are two scheduled meetings each year: (1) a technical meeting is held every fall in conjunction with the OAS and (2) a one- or two-day workshop is held every spring. Information about these meetings is located below.

An OMS membership form is available online in PDF format. A free reader for PDF files is at the Adobe web site. Membership in the Oklahoma Microscopy Society is available to anyone with an interest in microscopy. Corporate membership is $50, regular professional membership is $15 and student membership is $5 per academic year (July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016). Membership privileges include participation in society events, two newsletters/year and access to mailing lists. For Paypal payments go to Advertisements are accepted from Corporate Members through the Secretary-Treasurer and Newsletter Editor (see Officers) and a free link to their WWW Corporate Home Page is provided.

The new OMS newsletter (Fall, 2015) is available online at this link (in PDF format). An archive of OMS newsletters is available at

2015 Fall meeting:

The 2015 Fall Technical Meeting was held in conjunction with the 104th Annual Technical Meeting of the Oklahoma Academy of Science on Friday November 13, 2015 at Oklahoma City University at 2501 N Blackwelder Ave, Oklahoma City. The MSA keynote speaker was Dr. C. Barry Carter who will presented a very informative plenary talk on: "The Future of TEM and Why We Must Remember the Past". Dr. Carter is highly recognized for his contributions to electron microscopy and as coauthor of the comprehensive textbook/references entitled "Transmission Electron Microscopy" (1998) and "Transmission Electron Microscopy: A Textbook for Materials Science" (2009) by David B. Williams and C. Barry Carter.

OMS also hosted a number of contributed talks, competition for the 2015 Timpano Award for the best student presentation and voting for the 2015 Ugly Bug Contest. The winners of the Timpano Award were Joseph N. Tessmer for "Crystalline Defect Characterization Using Field-Emission Scanning Electron Microscopy" and S.M. Shazzad S. Rassel for "Characterization and Failure Analysis of Interband Cascade (IC) Structures and Devices Using a Zeiss Neon 40 Cross-Beam Microscope". Rules for the Timpano Award are available at the Timpano Award Rules site.

Information about the Fall Technical meeting is available from OAS at the following URL: For your convenience, OCU provided an interactive Google Map to the OCU campus and a detailed campus map of the buildings.

2016 Spring Workshop:

The 2016 Spring Workshop is being organized by President Lisa Whitworth on the Oklahoma State University campus in Stillwater, OK. Details and a theme for the workshop will be posted on the website as soon as available. The tentative date is Friday, March 25, 2016. A "Kid's Night of Science Activities" has traditionally been held on the Thursday evening preceding the workshop. Children have a great opportunity to operate an actual scanning electron microscopes (Hitachi TM-3000) with a sample of their own choosing, as well as participating in some other experiments and scientific activities.

A listserv list is now available for all of the members at:, to the OMS Executive Board at:, and to all of the OMS Corporate members at:

For more information:

Information about EM and societies:

This page is maintained by Scott Russell, Samuel Roberts Noble Microscopy Lab, University of Oklahoma. Please address any comments or inquiries to Of course, like most web pages out there, these are still under development, so any suggestions for improvements, useful links or information about defective links would be appreciated. This page was last revised Monday, 30-Nov-2015 14:50:23 CST.

Since 11/29/95, you are visitor number:

Thanks! (but we stopped counting after OU turned off Perl in 2012)

Go to the SRNEML Home Page.
Go to the Ugly Bug Contest Home Page.
Go to the University of Oklahoma Home Page.